15 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face

26 Apr 2022 // A review by Paul Goddard

If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."

Fuck that.

There is no normal. There is you and there is everyone else.

We are always pressured to fit into an acceptable or expected way to be. For the past few years especially we have been asked to conform in a way that many of us have never experienced before.

Normality breeds stagnation and kills creativity.

So the latest single Sad Face from Mojo Alice really connected with me. An angst-ridden heavy, bluesy, grunge tinted rage against normality. It connected on another level too.

Something more difficult to put my finger on, something not easy to explain. It could be Jem's vocals that cut and blend and pummel in equal measure. It could be the passion that shines through the dirty groove. It could be the musicianship. It could be the lyrics. It could be the production.

No, it's not those things.

What really stands out is that when all those familiar elements that many great bands have are put together on this track the result is different.

Sad Face could so easily have just been another run-of-the-mill bluesy rock song. The type which is blasted out of many a bar all over NZ on a normal Saturday night but it has a spark, an edge. It wears its familiar influences on its sleeve but manages to draw you in rather than turn you off.

In a genre where it is easy to replicate and repeat, Sad Face stands out. It demands your attention.

So if the "new normal" ever arrives. Ignore it, move on and catch Mojo Alice who I guess won't be doing the same as anyone else.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mojo Alice

Mojo Alice is an original four-member blues/rock band from Wellington. Formed in May 2016, they a guitar-based rock band with a heavy blue groove. Some of the band's influences include AC/DC, ZZ Top, Motorhead, Pantera, Warlock and Halestorm.

Individually very experienced and proficient musicians in their own right,  collectively the band are a force of nature.  Their following is growing quickly because of the consistently tight energetic live performances and engaging the audience with their infectious riffs, powerful vocals, and heavy grooves.

Brodie, the guitar wizard, defines our theme with the thunderous riffs and magic he performs on the guitar;

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mojo Alice

Releases

Liquid Sin
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Dirty Tones - Album Review: Sweet Thang
23 May 2024 // by Paul Goddard
For me, Blues music is the real soul music. It has storytelling like Country and folk music and passion like Rock music, but at its core it gives a window into the soul of the people creating it.
Read More...
Sam Cullen - EP Review: Love Again
18 Apr 2024 // by Paul Goddard
When I first heard this brand-new EP from Invercargill native Sam Cullen, I was immediately reminded of another famous Sam who has an equally famous last name (Fender).The four songs on the Love Again EP  have a familiarity and similarity with roots going back to Springsteen and the well-trodden stadium rock road but there is also something in the songs on Love Again that could only be grown in New Zealand.
Read More...
Skitch Hiker - Single Review: Slippery Wet Handshake
30 Jun 2023 // by Paul Goddard
Wow.Just when you have given up on music and banging your head against a brick wall wondering why Taylor Swift is more popular than toilet roll during a pandemic something like this comes along.
Read More...
Retro Valley - Single Review: Backseat Lovers
19 May 2023 // by Paul Goddard
Right from the opening bars of Backseat Lovers by Hamilton-based Retro Valley it is clear that this song is pure class.This 3-minute tune is a next-level lesson in how to create, perform and produce a pop/indie classic.
Read More...
Murmur Tooth and Lars Moston - Album Review: No Time To Explain
19 May 2023 // by Paul Goddard
Collaborations can work. Sometimes they do most of the time they don't.
Read More...
Album Review: Sex Dad's Greatest Hits: The Very Best Of Sex Dad
27 Dec 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Feeling bloated and underwhelmed. Listening to mainstream radio in the car as I left my phone at home.
Read More...
Marrow Neck - EP Review: Made Up
23 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Sitting here in a very wet and cold, rainy UK watching the oldies falling out of the local Wetherspoons where they have been on the piss since 9am (yep the UK is weird it's only the old people who can afford to get pissed all day).I am reflecting on the past as I listen to the latest EP Made Up from Auckland-based Mark Hannington.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Tempest
03 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Hardcore.It tends to mean extreme.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem