26 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face

26 Apr 2022 // A review by Paul Goddard

If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."

Fuck that.

There is no normal. There is you and there is everyone else.

We are always pressured to fit into an acceptable or expected way to be. For the past few years especially we have been asked to conform in a way that many of us have never experienced before.

Normality breeds stagnation and kills creativity.

So the latest single Sad Face from Mojo Alice really connected with me. An angst-ridden heavy, bluesy, grunge tinted rage against normality. It connected on another level too.

Something more difficult to put my finger on, something not easy to explain. It could be Jem's vocals that cut and blend and pummel in equal measure. It could be the passion that shines through the dirty groove. It could be the musicianship. It could be the lyrics. It could be the production.

No, it's not those things.

What really stands out is that when all those familiar elements that many great bands have are put together on this track the result is different.

Sad Face could so easily have just been another run-of-the-mill bluesy rock song. The type which is blasted out of many a bar all over NZ on a normal Saturday night but it has a spark, an edge. It wears its familiar influences on its sleeve but manages to draw you in rather than turn you off.

In a genre where it is easy to replicate and repeat, Sad Face stands out. It demands your attention.

So if the "new normal" ever arrives. Ignore it, move on and catch Mojo Alice who I guess won't be doing the same as anyone else.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mojo Alice

Mojo Alice is an original four-member blues/rock band from Wellington. Formed in May 2016, they a guitar-based rock band with a heavy blue groove. Some of the band's influences include AC/DC, ZZ Top, Motorhead, Pantera, Warlock and Halestorm.

Individually very experienced and proficient musicians in their own right,  collectively the band are a force of nature.  Their following is growing quickly because of the consistently tight energetic live performances and engaging the audience with their infectious riffs, powerful vocals, and heavy grooves.

Brodie, the guitar wizard, defines our theme with the thunderous riffs and magic he performs on the guitar;

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mojo Alice

Releases

Liquid Sin
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem