28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Janine Mitchell & The Haewai Collective - Album Review: Etched In My Soul

20 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Janine is a Wellington-based folk artist steeped in the 60’s tradition of protest singers and environmentalism, and on this album, she is joined by Jack Binding (acoustic lead guitar, vocals), Kevin Ikin (mandolin, harmonica, percussion, backing vocals), and Shaun Clifford (production, various instrumental overlays), while she provides vocals and acoustic guitar. On the rear cover she details what each song is about, the message she is conveying, while the songs always have her vocals front and centre, with others joining in on the chorus. Musically it is often strummed guitar as a base, a lead on top, and plenty of mandolin (which is always a good thing in my book).

Opening song, The Nation, is in many ways quite at odds with the rest of the album, and while I understand the rationale for having it first this may have been better as the closing track. This is Janine’s karakia, where she apologises for her ancestry which she describes as “Ngati Pakeha”, and the whole feeling of the first part of this song is more hymn-like than folk. The second part is the Te Reo version of our National Anthem, before she comes back into the song itself. Hearing it in this context does seem somewhat strange, and it did make me wonder what the rest of the album was going to be like.

In truth, the rest of the album is quite varied and different to the opening track, with some luscious moments here and there, and the bass on Where Has The Fire Gone is a delight, adding real warmth and depth to the lyrics where Janine asks why people don’t seem to protest anymore and how we need the younger generation to pick up the torch and ensure the world changes for the better. This is where Janine is at her best, with her passions there for all to see and hear, and one can imagine many of these numbers becoming singalongs when played in clubs. There may only be a few supporting musicians, but they ensure they keep mixing the accompaniment so one is never sure what the next one is going to sound like which keeps it fresh and interesting.

The acoustic/folk scene in New Zealand is certainly vibrant and exciting at present, and Wellington appears to be quite a centre for the genre, and Janine Mitchell is another name to add to the mix.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Janine Mitchell & The Haewai Collective

Janine Mitchell has returned to her youthful passion for acoustic folk guitar, and singing songs with a message.

This has seen her compose original songs in a 60’s / 70’s acoustic guitar folk style, as well as regenerating many of that era's classics, such as Joan Biaz and Bob Dylan, plus others.

Janine loves the platform made available through her song writing to korero a message that is close to her heart, singing about the environment, social issues and relationships - but mostly she just loves sharing music – food for the soul.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Janine Mitchell & The Haewai Collective

Releases

Etched In My Soul
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem