27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Janine Mitchell & The Haewai Collective - Album Review: Etched In My Soul

20 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Janine is a Wellington-based folk artist steeped in the 60’s tradition of protest singers and environmentalism, and on this album, she is joined by Jack Binding (acoustic lead guitar, vocals), Kevin Ikin (mandolin, harmonica, percussion, backing vocals), and Shaun Clifford (production, various instrumental overlays), while she provides vocals and acoustic guitar. On the rear cover she details what each song is about, the message she is conveying, while the songs always have her vocals front and centre, with others joining in on the chorus. Musically it is often strummed guitar as a base, a lead on top, and plenty of mandolin (which is always a good thing in my book).

Opening song, The Nation, is in many ways quite at odds with the rest of the album, and while I understand the rationale for having it first this may have been better as the closing track. This is Janine’s karakia, where she apologises for her ancestry which she describes as “Ngati Pakeha”, and the whole feeling of the first part of this song is more hymn-like than folk. The second part is the Te Reo version of our National Anthem, before she comes back into the song itself. Hearing it in this context does seem somewhat strange, and it did make me wonder what the rest of the album was going to be like.

In truth, the rest of the album is quite varied and different to the opening track, with some luscious moments here and there, and the bass on Where Has The Fire Gone is a delight, adding real warmth and depth to the lyrics where Janine asks why people don’t seem to protest anymore and how we need the younger generation to pick up the torch and ensure the world changes for the better. This is where Janine is at her best, with her passions there for all to see and hear, and one can imagine many of these numbers becoming singalongs when played in clubs. There may only be a few supporting musicians, but they ensure they keep mixing the accompaniment so one is never sure what the next one is going to sound like which keeps it fresh and interesting.

The acoustic/folk scene in New Zealand is certainly vibrant and exciting at present, and Wellington appears to be quite a centre for the genre, and Janine Mitchell is another name to add to the mix.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Janine Mitchell & The Haewai Collective

Janine Mitchell has returned to her youthful passion for acoustic folk guitar, and singing songs with a message.

This has seen her compose original songs in a 60’s / 70’s acoustic guitar folk style, as well as regenerating many of that era's classics, such as Joan Biaz and Bob Dylan, plus others.

Janine loves the platform made available through her song writing to korero a message that is close to her heart, singing about the environment, social issues and relationships - but mostly she just loves sharing music – food for the soul.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Janine Mitchell & The Haewai Collective

Releases

Etched In My Soul
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem