23 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1

20 Apr 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic. As you know, or may not know, I love Rap and Hip-Hop. This album tips off its hat at so many different influences. The laid back chill vibes of the opening on Alchemy provides plenty of space for Eliezer to lay down some slick verses. The cadence is solid, the feel is real and almost has a little bit of a Home Brew vibe to it. You can tell it's NZ Hip-Hop yet it sounds so modern and international.

As the album progresses there are a lot of different tracks that showcase what Eliezer is capable of, like on RI$$H which sounds darker lyrically and delivery wise. Even still, the production is all there with ad-libs where needed.

There is even a track called Fight Club that had a hard trap vibe to it. It reminded me a bit of Tekashi 69 (not my favourite at all) but at least it sounded better than that. Please don't hate me! It is just my opinion.

Also within the set lies a few slower tracks with slightly different atmospheres and deliveries like on Falling and Baby I'm A Fool.

Overall, for a collection of tunes aimed around diary entries that show up as Notes from iPhone on Soundcloud, this is a super solid effort. If you enjoy Hip-Hop and rap and all the sub-genres that exists from it, I definitely recommend this album. Eliezer knows what he wants on each track and is able to fully realise it.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Eliezer

I am a London born, Auckland raised rapper, singer, songwriter who produces and engineers all my own music with my best friend Jake. I meet Jake, known as Ten.Oh, while playing online video games. Since releasing my first song in 2018, I have developed a loyal fanbase from all over the globe which continues to grow. With versatility and a wide variety of multi-genre music I plan to put NZ on the map for mainstream hip-hop.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eliezer

Releases

Diary Entries, Vol. 1
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem