3 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Hyperkunt

14 Apr 2022 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based electronic artist Hybrid Rose has just dropped her fifth album which goes by the no nonsense name of Hyperkunt. A futuristic cyberspace like character with attitude occasionally courting controversy, Hybrid Rose continues to deliver inspiring original dance tunes infused with an abundance of attitude.

In the true Hybrid Rose fashion of holding nothing back, Hyperkunt envelopes the listener with self-produced high femme, campy pop music that plays with your mind. She has been described as “the embodiment of too much sugar, too much spice and a little bit of underground flamboyance”. Her sound and this album might be like nothing you have heard before, mixed with something you have. Hard to define, completely original and slightly addictive.

Hyperkunt is an extraordinary and unique album. Here is why.

Nine tracks grace this album. First off is Dial Tone a catchy techno-pop number that hooks you in with its cleverly written lyrics which flow like a rhyme. Transitioning seamlessly into I Want It All, you get a taste of some slightly spicy lyrics and a snappy beat. At this point I was hooked.

The rest of Hyperkunt progresses into a delightfully raunchy cyber soundscape. Colourful, bold and racy. Mixed to perfection.

There are several artists featuring on this album. The track that warped my mind the most was Vanilla Beam (feat. Hazel Rose), it sounded like it was being played backwards, a head turning cacophony of sound taking me back to my clubbing days.

I could see why Hybrid Rose has been making waves in the underground music scene. She pulls no punches from the futuristic mixing to the retro beat. Some of her lyrics are R18. If you don’t like it, don’t listen. Five stars from me.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hybrid Rose

Citing a range of musical influences from Kevin Parker (Tame Impala) to Lady Gaga and Marina Diamandis, to Coldplay, Blenheim resident Rose Gray (aka Hybrid Rose) self-produces tunes that vary from chiptune ditty Video Games to the poppy, dance-y Pixel and distorted dubstep of Expectations.

Her influences go beyond music, however; the opening chords to Pixels came to her while watching an episode of Adventure Time for example. She also cites vintage design and graphics as an influence, especially in terms of the visuals she produces alongside her songs. While Gray doesn’t consider herself a political person, she says she’s very passionate about making change.

Her musical character is a little more involved however, and the music is occasionally politically inspired. Hybrid Rose, an electronic character. An infectious virus in your ears, an addiction you cannot quit.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hybrid Rose

Releases

HyperKunt
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Shapeshifter
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Awkwardly Eccentric
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Warhol
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Cherry
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Cosmic
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Colette Rivers - Single/Video Review: Memory Lake
08 May 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand-American indie folk artist Colette Rivers has just released a video for her latest song Memory Lake. The video was filmed on the shores of Lake Taupo and is also the theme of her song.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Count Me Out
31 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam, has just released the third and final instalment of her “pop trifecta” the last of three songs called Count Me Out. A light and airy original based around being stood up on a first date.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: One Puff Wonder
15 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Revulva are an eight-piece band from Wellington who describe themselves as “nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop”. A jazzy-pop octet who have just released their third single One Puff Wonder, which follows on from debut singles Sniffy Lady and Turning Out and builds on the foundation for their up and coming EP Girls Gotta Eat, set to be released late March 22.
Read More...
David Kirby - EP Review: Songs To Depress Your Dog
09 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Middlesbrough UK now based in Wellington, David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on the unusual musical combination of folk/folk-punk acoustic songs. Songs to Depress Your Dog is Kirby's second EP, following on from his 2020 debut EP Can’t Move For Doom.
Read More...
Little Ripples - Single Review: Little Bee
23 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Little Ripples are a children's music act from Whangarei Heads comprising of Sam and Emily Benges, plus their youngest son Arlo. The trio have recently released the first song from their album In My Garden.
Read More...
The Wax Birds - Single Review: Kansas
11 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Oxford Canterbury, smooth sounding acoustic duo The Wax Birds have just released their latest single Kansas. This is the follow up to their first album Slow Rise released in 2020, which impressed me with a lush country/folk mix of beautiful harmony and gentle flowing guitar.
Read More...
Neutrikk - EP Review: E-P 2
08 Dec 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland duo Neutrikk have just released their second EP. Cleverly called E-P 2, I must admit to spending longer than I should have trying to find the name of the EP in the Bio.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Like A Movie
16 Nov 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam has just released her follow up single to Glow in the trilogy of pop-oriented singles. Like A Movie is a track firmly aimed at the youth market "capturing the rift between romcoms and real life".
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem