27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Checaine - EP Review: Black River

13 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to catch Hamilton-based Checaine on the Auckland leg of the tour to promote the EP I am now listening to. I came away impressed that night and playing these five tracks remind me again of just why that was. Here we have a melodic hard rock band which is rooted in the Seventies who also bring in some more modern American influences and then combine them in a manner which is immediate yet also full of layers. With some music it is often easy to pick out the flashy bits, the cranked guitar or the singer and actually miss what is going on inside. Here, the very heart of Checaine’s sound, and the reason it works so well, is actually the bass. Why is that?

To put it simply, Chris is the person who holds it all together, underpinning the sound and melody which then allows the others to go off at tangents. Often the bassist is locked in with the drummer to provide a solid foundation, but here it is much more of a one-man operation which allows Joe to sometimes keep it tight, while at others he can be pounding around the kit or providing additional attacks which busies up the sound and provides them with a harder edge. This means he often ties in more with guitarist Regan than Chris, with the two of them working and bouncing off each other. Regan is often tying down the riff, but he also uses different sounds so that while the band is always heavy (and it is no surprise to see them playing gigs with After Forever), there is always real melody and he is also good at bringing the feeling of space into a section, then locking it right down at others so we get plenty of dynamic contrast. This use of contrast is one of the reasons the band can come across as crunchingly heavy while also being melodic.

Then at the front of course is Fraser, who is one of those singers who somehow can stand at the front of a monstrous outfit in full control and provide powerful vocals which are always melodic, while he also uses different styles and pitch to create different feelings and styles. There are five songs on this 23-minute-long EP, and each one is a force of nature, and very different to each other. Take the title cut for example, this sees Fraser using falsetto at times, powering in at others, a chorus and bridge which is guaranteed to get the crowd moving yet somehow it would also fit in on the radio. There are times when the guitars take a real backseat, then coming back in to provide the emphasis it needs as the song lifts. I enjoyed all the songs on here, and it is hard to pick a highlight, but possibly the closer Asleep At The Wheel needs a special mention just because it is so different to the rest of the set, with drum rolls which really push it forward. This is one of those songs where there is a lot going on from everyone involved and they blend together to make something quite special.

Overall, this is a great set and I look forward to catching them in concert again soon.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Checaine

Checaine are a melodic/progressive hard rock band from Hamilton. They bring powerful hooks to their songs and a progressive style that keeps the music evolving and exciting.

Formed in 2011 by Fraser Coombes (vocals) and Regan Aspden (guitar), they are now accompanied by an exciting line-up of talented members that add to the sound and live show performance Checaine have become known for.

The band have enjoyed great exposure through their new dynamic single Bring Me Down as heard on New Zealand's The Rock FM.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Checaine

Releases

Symbols
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Turn The Stone
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem