27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Joseph E Harrison - Single Review: Blameless

11 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Joseph E Harrison came over to NZ from Sheffield at the end of the 90’s, since when he has been performing in different bands, most notably in Brave New Void. His new single, Blameless, is a totally solo performance, with Joseph writing, performing, and recording this on his own, and it immediately evokes one performer and period in particular. This is classic Bowie, but not the Thin White Duke or Ziggy, but rather what he was doing in the Eighties before he jumped into Tin Machine. It is catchy, it has a strong backbone beat, plenty of angular guitars which turn into riffs when it is time for the chorus, plus synths coming in and out to create a different feeling. One of the really clever parts of the arrangement is the way (almost exactly halfway through) when all the instruments drop away as he sings the line “I guarantee you’ll remember my name”, and if you had been wondering up to then who this reminds you of there is no doubt from here on in.

It is full of pop hooks, plenty of guitars, and sounds all so wonderfully dated but whereas some songs make it all seem twee which leaves an unpleasant taste in the ear, instead this feels like a song which was mastered 40 years ago and then forgotten about until someone came along and blew the dust off the tape case and put it in the player. It is fun, it is buoyant, with vocals which have just the right edge and for anyone who enjoys that period of Bowie or Roxy Music will find much on here to enjoy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Joseph E Harrison

Growing up in Sheffield in the North of England, and a resident of NZ since the late nineties, the music of Joseph E Harrison reflects his experience of almost forty years as a performer and songwriter, on both sides of the world.

Incorporating loud guitars, feedback, multi-layered vocal harmonies and dark, ambiguous lyrics, Joseph's songs delve into questions of love, regret, betrayal, obsession and insanity.

Influences include Bowie, Suede, Fields of the Nephilim, Prince and Roxy music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Joseph E Harrison

Releases

There are no releases to display for Joseph E Harrison.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem