28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nigel Parry - Album Review: Tales of Common Folk: Salt & Sweet Kisses

11 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Much of the folk music I hear in NZ has other elements added to it, such as bluegrass, Americana and country, but after only a few seconds of the opening number Three Danish Galleys, on Nigel Parry's new album Tales of Common Folk, Salt & Sweet Kisses, I knew we were in for what I think of as “the real thing”, namely English Folk Music which has been brought up to date yet  staying true to the tradition. Even though I think of myself primarily as a metalhead or proghead, there is no doubt that folk has always had a powerful hold on me, and when I travelled from one side of the world to the other for a festival some five years ago, it was to attend Cropredy not Wacken. Folk music is the continuation of the aural tradition, telling stories and keeping them alive, and of the 10 on this album there are only two trad arr., one by David Sudbury, plus one by Helen Dorothy who duets on it with Nigel, and the rest are by Nigel himself and within the booklet he tells us what each song is about.

Although, like me, Nigel is British-born, not all his songs are based around the country of his birth, as there are also plenty about his country of choice. King of Rome is one of my absolute favourites, as apart from a drone this is basically an acapella piece with plenty of additional singers joining in, as we hear the story of a racing pigeon. The accompaniment may just be Nigel, but he has also brought in other musicians to assist so at times there is a harp, at others an accordion, or bagpipes, flutes and whistles etc. These all add to the authentic feel of this album, always with Nigel’s vocals at the very centre, taking us with him in the way only a master storyteller can.

When Darryl Baser reviewed One Word War on MNNZ in December he said it was one of the most hauntingly beautiful pieces of music he heard last year, and I know exactly what he means as the whole album is like that. This is powerful stuff, demonstrating that it is all about the craft and never about volume and rushing along, as this is restrained and refined, taking the listener gently by the hand and guiding them along. It is an album where one wishes it never to finish, never to end, as then it is a case of coming back to reality which is not where we want to be. Nigel can be found playing solo and in various different bands in Wellington, and I only hope he makes it up to Auckland soon as this is British-style folk at its finest.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Nigel Parry

Nigel Parry – Singer / songwriter, acoustic folk - Soulful Folkiwi Music

“...a whole spectrum of emotion with Nigel particularly excelling in his ability to present each song as a story, his mellow vocal tone ideal..,” Bright Young Folk.

“A prominent singer / guitarist with a big strong rousing voice that lends itself equally well to heartache ballads, rock & roll and sea shanties,” said Mainly Acoustic.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nigel Parry

Releases

Row Out To Your Ship of Dreams
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem