27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nigel Parry - Album Review: Tales of Common Folk: Salt & Sweet Kisses

11 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Much of the folk music I hear in NZ has other elements added to it, such as bluegrass, Americana and country, but after only a few seconds of the opening number Three Danish Galleys, on Nigel Parry's new album Tales of Common Folk, Salt & Sweet Kisses, I knew we were in for what I think of as “the real thing”, namely English Folk Music which has been brought up to date yet  staying true to the tradition. Even though I think of myself primarily as a metalhead or proghead, there is no doubt that folk has always had a powerful hold on me, and when I travelled from one side of the world to the other for a festival some five years ago, it was to attend Cropredy not Wacken. Folk music is the continuation of the aural tradition, telling stories and keeping them alive, and of the 10 on this album there are only two trad arr., one by David Sudbury, plus one by Helen Dorothy who duets on it with Nigel, and the rest are by Nigel himself and within the booklet he tells us what each song is about.

Although, like me, Nigel is British-born, not all his songs are based around the country of his birth, as there are also plenty about his country of choice. King of Rome is one of my absolute favourites, as apart from a drone this is basically an acapella piece with plenty of additional singers joining in, as we hear the story of a racing pigeon. The accompaniment may just be Nigel, but he has also brought in other musicians to assist so at times there is a harp, at others an accordion, or bagpipes, flutes and whistles etc. These all add to the authentic feel of this album, always with Nigel’s vocals at the very centre, taking us with him in the way only a master storyteller can.

When Darryl Baser reviewed One Word War on MNNZ in December he said it was one of the most hauntingly beautiful pieces of music he heard last year, and I know exactly what he means as the whole album is like that. This is powerful stuff, demonstrating that it is all about the craft and never about volume and rushing along, as this is restrained and refined, taking the listener gently by the hand and guiding them along. It is an album where one wishes it never to finish, never to end, as then it is a case of coming back to reality which is not where we want to be. Nigel can be found playing solo and in various different bands in Wellington, and I only hope he makes it up to Auckland soon as this is British-style folk at its finest.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Nigel Parry

Nigel Parry – Singer / songwriter, acoustic folk - Soulful Folkiwi Music

“...a whole spectrum of emotion with Nigel particularly excelling in his ability to present each song as a story, his mellow vocal tone ideal..,” Bright Young Folk.

“A prominent singer / guitarist with a big strong rousing voice that lends itself equally well to heartache ballads, rock & roll and sea shanties,” said Mainly Acoustic.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nigel Parry

Releases

Row Out To Your Ship of Dreams
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem