28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Steve Tofa - Album Review: Koko Stax: The Legend Of Leni Mafu

11 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when an album is put on, and the listener starts to smile virtually immediately, warming to what is going on in their ears and Steve Tofa's new album, Koko Stax: The Legend of Leni Mafu, is just one of those. I loved this the very first time I played it, and it has just got better each and every time since then.

Here we have the second release from Silver Scroll nominee Steve Tofa, who wrote, performed, and produced this album in his home studio. Given that this sounds like a full band with multiple vocal layerings on top, all I can say is that he must be highly driven with a huge work ethic, much like the person he most reminds me of, Troy Kingi. Steve was born in Samoa, and when I asked him about the album title, he told me “Koko is Samoan for cocoa, and is a very popular traditional beverage we enjoy for social occasions, or as an accompaniment for desserts after feasting. It can be quite expensive to come by, especially if you live far from Auckland. Here in the Waikato, I equate anyone with loads of ‘Koko’ as ‘stacked’, in lieu of cash.” As for the second part of the title, “Koko Stax is a concatenation of stories, anecdotes and notes to self - loosely based on a character I created called 'Leni Mafu' (in the first year of my music degree - 2019) a freight, logistics and warehousing extraordinaire. The songs follow his life, love, and pursuit of financial success.”

Musically this is full of soul and heart, with a beautifully warm bass often at the heart of what is taking place, and he brings in electric guitar at times, while at others it is acoustic. We get glimpses of reggae, we get funk, real Seventies soul, Motown, all wrapped up as a complete package with those wonderful vocal harmonies. I hate to think how many times he must have vocally accompanied himself during the recording, yet there is always a freshness and life within it, the music and lyrics are never smothered. Lyrically we follow a journey, with the most poignant probably being Headlights On (Dawn Raid Lights), which is incredibly catchy yet telling the horrific tale of so many who were soon treated as overstayers and criminals. It is strange to realise that it took until 2021 for an official apology to be made to all those who suffered not only during this period but for years afterwards.

There is a real presence here, real depth for what is a thoroughly enjoyable album which is full of commercial numbers, any of which could easily find their place on the radio. The arrangements and vocals are sublime, with simple elements such as dropping most of the instrumentation away on Say It and allowing the vocals to shine showing real confidence. It is one of those albums where whatever song is playing is the current favourite, and one can only hope that this is a raging success and Steve pulls together a band to bring this vision to the stage as music as good as this deserves to be given the opportunity to breathe in a live environment.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Steve Tofa

Samoan born Steve Tofa is a singer/songwriter/multi instrumentalist and producer from Aotearoa (New Zealand). He released his debut album The Barefooted Beast in 2019, received a Top 20 - New Zealand APRA-AMCOS Silver Scroll Award nomination in 2020, for his genre defying track Bone That Needs Pickin; and with a sound described as ‘alt country crossed with acoustic folk/rock’ his follow up album The Koko Stax, is now available. Self produced mostly in his home studio, The Koko Stax is a concatenation of stories, anecdotes and notes to self - loosely based on a character he created called 'Leni Mafu' a freight, logistics and warehousing extraordinaire.

He has a few other projects lined up through post graduate studies this year, as well as another album signalling a return to his heavy classic blues and soul influences, confirmed for later release.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Steve Tofa

Releases

The Hireling Demos
Year: 2021
Type: EP
The Barefooted Beast
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem