27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Turkey The Bird - Album Review: When Turkeys Fly

07 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When one sees cover art where the band are wearing clothes which were never in fashion even in the height of disco, combined with a somewhat unusual name then this is either going to be something incredibly special, or something spectacularly bad. However, I had high hopes from this band and when the harmonies hit just 25 seconds into opener Orbit, I knew I was in for a fun time. They liken themselves to a mixture between Simon & Garfunkel and Mumford & Sons, and if we are going to continue with the ampersand obsession then we ought to include Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, while Cat Stevens also has a place and for NZ references, I would also add Bond Street Bridge and You, Me Everybody.

Turkey The Bird comprise Adrian Whelan (guitar, mandolin, bass), Andre Manella (guitar, bass, stomp box), and Sol Bear Coulton (banjo), and all three of them sing, oh boy do they sing. As may have been gathered from the instrumentation this is mostly an acoustic band, but while most people would call this folk there are also plenty of bluegrass influences, alongside Laurel Canyon singer songwriter and some of the more commercial elements of some of the artists mentioned. The band name may be unusual, and the artwork plain daft, but when it comes to music these guys are deadly serious and the result is songs which are layered and complex, yet also inviting and welcoming. With the lack of percussion there is more room for their instruments to breathe and express themselves as they weave together the tapestries of sound, catching the threads and making them into a glorious whole, and then there are the vocals on top. Here this is more about providing a shining carpet of sound, which lays over the web they have created, somehow never crushing it, but adding to the overall brilliance.

Molly Brown is a drinking song where one can imagine everyone getting more hammered as it progresses, Under A Blue Sky is more upbeat with some lovely riffed mandolin, while Pour Me Another has plaintive electric guitar in the background which threatens to turn it into a slow blues. As with the vast majority of material I receive these days this was sent to me digitally, and I had not paid any attention whatsoever to the song titles (nor had I researched the band beforehand, which is my usual approach). Therefore, the last song on the album took me somewhat by surprise and I just burst out laughing. That song is none other than Kiss, a song which was originally written by Prince but for me will always be one of Tom Jones’s greatest moments. This contains elements from both versions, here combined with some tongue in cheek spoken humour which has far more in common with the album cover than anything else. It also has the banjo very much to the fore, something I don’t remember much from the other versions, strangely, and Bear even gets a solo! If you are going to mess about with a well-known song then you have to be very good indeed and this is plain brilliant.

This is a great album, and I am really looking forward to catching them on the tour which kicks off soon. I will be at Ministry of Folk for the final night in mid-June, but there are plenty of opportunities to see them before then and lovers of great music need to ensure they do not miss out. Until then this album is going to be on repeat, as it is essential.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Turkey The Bird

Turkey The Bird is New Zealand's answer to 'Simon & Garfunkel' if '&' was a musician too.
Catchy folk songs with stunning rich melodies and effortless smooth lyrics. Songs that tell uplifting stories about love and life.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Turkey The Bird

Releases

When Turkeys Fly
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Turkey The Bird
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem