28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Turkey The Bird - Album Review: When Turkeys Fly

07 Apr 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When one sees cover art where the band are wearing clothes which were never in fashion even in the height of disco, combined with a somewhat unusual name then this is either going to be something incredibly special, or something spectacularly bad. However, I had high hopes from this band and when the harmonies hit just 25 seconds into opener Orbit, I knew I was in for a fun time. They liken themselves to a mixture between Simon & Garfunkel and Mumford & Sons, and if we are going to continue with the ampersand obsession then we ought to include Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, while Cat Stevens also has a place and for NZ references, I would also add Bond Street Bridge and You, Me Everybody.

Turkey The Bird comprise Adrian Whelan (guitar, mandolin, bass), Andre Manella (guitar, bass, stomp box), and Sol Bear Coulton (banjo), and all three of them sing, oh boy do they sing. As may have been gathered from the instrumentation this is mostly an acoustic band, but while most people would call this folk there are also plenty of bluegrass influences, alongside Laurel Canyon singer songwriter and some of the more commercial elements of some of the artists mentioned. The band name may be unusual, and the artwork plain daft, but when it comes to music these guys are deadly serious and the result is songs which are layered and complex, yet also inviting and welcoming. With the lack of percussion there is more room for their instruments to breathe and express themselves as they weave together the tapestries of sound, catching the threads and making them into a glorious whole, and then there are the vocals on top. Here this is more about providing a shining carpet of sound, which lays over the web they have created, somehow never crushing it, but adding to the overall brilliance.

Molly Brown is a drinking song where one can imagine everyone getting more hammered as it progresses, Under A Blue Sky is more upbeat with some lovely riffed mandolin, while Pour Me Another has plaintive electric guitar in the background which threatens to turn it into a slow blues. As with the vast majority of material I receive these days this was sent to me digitally, and I had not paid any attention whatsoever to the song titles (nor had I researched the band beforehand, which is my usual approach). Therefore, the last song on the album took me somewhat by surprise and I just burst out laughing. That song is none other than Kiss, a song which was originally written by Prince but for me will always be one of Tom Jones’s greatest moments. This contains elements from both versions, here combined with some tongue in cheek spoken humour which has far more in common with the album cover than anything else. It also has the banjo very much to the fore, something I don’t remember much from the other versions, strangely, and Bear even gets a solo! If you are going to mess about with a well-known song then you have to be very good indeed and this is plain brilliant.

This is a great album, and I am really looking forward to catching them on the tour which kicks off soon. I will be at Ministry of Folk for the final night in mid-June, but there are plenty of opportunities to see them before then and lovers of great music need to ensure they do not miss out. Until then this album is going to be on repeat, as it is essential.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Turkey The Bird

Turkey The Bird is New Zealand's answer to 'Simon & Garfunkel' if '&' was a musician too.
Catchy folk songs with stunning rich melodies and effortless smooth lyrics. Songs that tell uplifting stories about love and life.



Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Turkey The Bird

Releases

When Turkeys Fly
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Turkey The Bird
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem