30 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

REID - Single Review: Savannah

07 Apr 2022 // A review by Lou Clement
REID is solo artist, based in Wellington, who is making straight-up fun and catchy pop music. Inspired by a desire to simply get people to sing and dance along, REID’s debut single, Savannah, is one of those songs that is the soundtrack to sunny days.


REID’s vocals are versatile and this track only hints at his skill. At times his tone suggests his range. He also brings an R&B sound and merges Spanish lyrics – he is ticking lots of mainstream boxes, and I think that will reflect the wide appeal of his music.

Lyrically, it’s a song about looking forward to those happy moments when we are full of hope and longing. It's an invitation to relax and engage. That REID wrote this during lockdown is perhaps telling of his abilities and discipline. It seems to offer new beginnings, out the other side of the difficult and challenging times for musicians, of these past two or so years. I think listeners will feel this too.

As a self-penned track, this release brings promise for emerging acts in New Zealand and also I think will reach an appreciative audience. With similar young artists like BENEE finding international success, I think there is plenty of desire for singer-songwriters like REID. I look forward to hearing more.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About REID

REID is a Pop/RnB singer-songwriter who is making his way into the music scene, embodying how boundaries between genres continue to collapse. Complimented by the acoustic-pop sound that his songs typically encapsulate, the substance within his lyricism tells stories of honesty and relevance to ignite an emotional connection between his music and the listener.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for REID

Releases

There are no releases to display for REID.

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Jason Parker - EP Review: How To Be Lonely
10 Dec 2022 // by Lou Clement
Jason Parker has recently released his 5-track EP, How To Be Lonely and in doing so, he has brought his life affirming pop to our speakers. Parker has a history in TV talent shows and they are one of my favourite things.
Read More...
Gig Review: Womb w/ Samara Alofa @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 25/11/2022
28 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
Underground a bustling K-Road the Wine Cellar played host to Womb on Friday night, a three-piece comprised of siblings, Georgette Brown and twins Haz and Charlotte Forrester. Tonight, they celebrated the release of their new album, Dreaming of The Future Again.
Read More...
Gig Review: Goodnight My Darling w/ Ersha Island @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2022
11 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
Goodnight My Darling played at Whammy Bar along with Ersha Island last night. Ersha Island are a sister-duo, playing a classic (but not often seen in their genres) accompaniment of violin and piano.
Read More...
Gig Review: No Cigar @ Galatos, Auckland - 5/11/2022
09 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
No Cigar played Auckland on the final date of their Bienvenido Album Release Tour. Nestled behind Karangahape Road, the venue, Galatos, was sold out and packed to the brim on an electric Saturday night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi and The Promises @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/10/2022
17 Oct 2022 // by Lou Clement
Available on both vinyl and cassette, Troy Kingi’s (Te Arawa, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau-a-Apanui) new album, Year of The Ratbags and Their Musty Theme Songs, was debuted at the Powerstation, Auckland. It was a fun and fantastic return to live performance for 2022, following the years of COVID cancellations and absences.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid & Jenny Mitchell @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 09/09/2022
11 Sep 2022 // by Lou Clement
Worth the wait might be the short summary of an epic and memorable evening with Nadia Reid with the Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra and support from Jenny Mitchell. Both acts were accompanied by their bands and a packed Auckland Town Hall cheered every song.
Read More...
Flaxxies - EP Review: Beach Rudes
04 Aug 2022 // by Lou Clement
Flaxxies release a four track EP, that heralds Spring with its’ playfulness and optimism. The band are a five piece who blend a number of influences: most obviously surf rock and reggae.
Read More...
Gig Review: NZ Music Month Wrap Party @ Tuning Fork - 31/05/2022
05 Jun 2022 // by Lou Clement
Live music is back with swagger as event numbers grow and crowds swarm for a crucial mark of ‘return to normal’ in Auckland. At the Tuning Fork, sandwiched between the Port and the central city streets, a diverse crowd gathered at this all-ages event, to mark the end of NZ Music month, 2022.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem