28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.

His latest album Fatal Attraction is soaked in 80's synth-pop. The opening track No Money sets us up with a reverb-laden vocal adlib over the sound of a light synth lead, before shifting into a banging track driven by its bassline that almost tips its hat to a synth version of Billie Jean.

A lot of the first half of the album remains chill, especially songs like Rain featuring Bianca Tio (which is fantastic), but then almost like a switch, things change quickly. Showing a different side, I'm Ready To Go ups the tempo and vibe before showing how thug-life Jeivenchy can get with his short, but punchy track, Bad Bitch. This track really bangs.

Following on from this, the trend continues with this style like I'm Leavin II which is auto-tuned heavily for the style. The beat is fire here, as is the production. The chorus pops and leaves you wanting more. You could see a venue go crazy during this song.

The final song God Is Good, I'm Not returns to the sound found in the first half of the album.

Overall, there is a consistent feel and theme to the album. It definitely has an 80's vibe in the first half but moves into a slight hip-hop/rap vibe in the latter part, which I liked a lot. It shows some diversity but also, that consistency I speak of comes from how the tracks are arranged and set out. With production from Rose Muollo-Gray, also known as Hybrid Rose, the album feels complete and thought out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jeivenchy

Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses. His sound combines the elements of pop, dance, electronic and R&B. In 2021, Jeivenchy released I’m Leavin, an angsty rap track which spawned 2000 streams and 360, described by muzic.net as "00’s Pop/R&B soundtrack, a solid pop banger in the same vein as The Weeknd".

Jeivenchy is set to release a new single Mario Kart on 29 October, a sensual hyper pop track from his upcoming album, Baggage Claim. Baggage Claim is set for release on February 2022, produced by Wellington Indie’s darling, Hybrid Rose.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jeivenchy

Releases

Fatal Attraction
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Seenzoned
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem