23 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.

His latest album Fatal Attraction is soaked in 80's synth-pop. The opening track No Money sets us up with a reverb-laden vocal adlib over the sound of a light synth lead, before shifting into a banging track driven by its bassline that almost tips its hat to a synth version of Billie Jean.

A lot of the first half of the album remains chill, especially songs like Rain featuring Bianca Tio (which is fantastic), but then almost like a switch, things change quickly. Showing a different side, I'm Ready To Go ups the tempo and vibe before showing how thug-life Jeivenchy can get with his short, but punchy track, Bad Bitch. This track really bangs.

Following on from this, the trend continues with this style like I'm Leavin II which is auto-tuned heavily for the style. The beat is fire here, as is the production. The chorus pops and leaves you wanting more. You could see a venue go crazy during this song.

The final song God Is Good, I'm Not returns to the sound found in the first half of the album.

Overall, there is a consistent feel and theme to the album. It definitely has an 80's vibe in the first half but moves into a slight hip-hop/rap vibe in the latter part, which I liked a lot. It shows some diversity but also, that consistency I speak of comes from how the tracks are arranged and set out. With production from Rose Muollo-Gray, also known as Hybrid Rose, the album feels complete and thought out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jeivenchy

Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses. His sound combines the elements of pop, dance, electronic and R&B. In 2021, Jeivenchy released I’m Leavin, an angsty rap track which spawned 2000 streams and 360, described by muzic.net as "00’s Pop/R&B soundtrack, a solid pop banger in the same vein as The Weeknd".

Jeivenchy is set to release a new single Mario Kart on 29 October, a sensual hyper pop track from his upcoming album, Baggage Claim. Baggage Claim is set for release on February 2022, produced by Wellington Indie’s darling, Hybrid Rose.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jeivenchy

Releases

Fatal Attraction
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Seenzoned
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem