1 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.

His latest album Fatal Attraction is soaked in 80's synth-pop. The opening track No Money sets us up with a reverb-laden vocal adlib over the sound of a light synth lead, before shifting into a banging track driven by its bassline that almost tips its hat to a synth version of Billie Jean.

A lot of the first half of the album remains chill, especially songs like Rain featuring Bianca Tio (which is fantastic), but then almost like a switch, things change quickly. Showing a different side, I'm Ready To Go ups the tempo and vibe before showing how thug-life Jeivenchy can get with his short, but punchy track, Bad Bitch. This track really bangs.

Following on from this, the trend continues with this style like I'm Leavin II which is auto-tuned heavily for the style. The beat is fire here, as is the production. The chorus pops and leaves you wanting more. You could see a venue go crazy during this song.

The final song God Is Good, I'm Not returns to the sound found in the first half of the album.

Overall, there is a consistent feel and theme to the album. It definitely has an 80's vibe in the first half but moves into a slight hip-hop/rap vibe in the latter part, which I liked a lot. It shows some diversity but also, that consistency I speak of comes from how the tracks are arranged and set out. With production from Rose Muollo-Gray, also known as Hybrid Rose, the album feels complete and thought out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jeivenchy

Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses. His sound combines the elements of pop, dance, electronic and R&B. In 2021, Jeivenchy released I’m Leavin, an angsty rap track which spawned 2000 streams and 360, described by muzic.net as "00’s Pop/R&B soundtrack, a solid pop banger in the same vein as The Weeknd".

Jeivenchy is set to release a new single Mario Kart on 29 October, a sensual hyper pop track from his upcoming album, Baggage Claim. Baggage Claim is set for release on February 2022, produced by Wellington Indie’s darling, Hybrid Rose.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jeivenchy

Releases

Fatal Attraction
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Seenzoned
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
Seaside Sloths - Album Review: Claws
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Seaside Sloths are a 7-piece, genre-defying outfit, here to remind everyone to slow down. Hailing from the jungle and now residing on luscious shorelines of the Kapiti Coast.
Read More...
Munro - Album Review: The Book Of Isaac
31 Aug 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Rapper/producer Munro makes all his songs in a humble caravan studio located in Matakana.On his new album, The Book Of Isaac, he explores different soundscapes that range from acoustic, east-coast jazz influenced hip-hop and others all influenced by the hip-hop sounds of the last 30 years.
Read More...
Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem