27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam Bambery - Album Review: Songs About Sailors

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

One of the real delights in discovering so much NZ music is most of the artists I am asked to review I know nothing about beforehand, so each piece of music is a total surprise and I have no preconceived opinions ahead of time. I also never read press releases until I have played the album/single, so I approach the music very clean. When I heard this for the first time I just sat there with a smile on my face as right from opener Waiting I knew I was in for a good time. This is the debut album from Otautahi-based guitarist and singer, Sam Bambery, who worked with De Stevens (Marlin’s Dreaming, Asta Rangu) and a host of local musicians to create something which reflects his interests in alt-country, traditional folk and no-nonsense indie rock.

He cites quite a few influences in his music, including Wilco, Elliot Smith, Aldous Harding, Cut Worms, Marlon Williams, Adam Hattaway and Delaney Davidson and he is all these things, plus some of his guitar sounds are classic Johnny Cash, but he is very much his own man as well. Country is the pervasive genre throughout the album, but very much from the alternative side, so while it may have that country feel it does not have the swagger and laid-back feel but instead is often more direct and in your face with the indie vibe also very much in play. One of the delights of the album is although there is a strong style throughout, all the songs are very different indeed. Take Over and Out for example, where for the first half of the song it is just him and a strummed electric which is way more folk in feel, then we get that crunching overdrive guitar just for a few notes, totally changing the feel and effect. It is an incredibly dynamic number, full of contrast, with the band dropping in and out, full of passion and power.

The title cut is much more in a traditional country style, where he allows himself to sing with real warmth in his voice, playing an acoustic and some nice steel nuances here and there. I would not have guessed from the title that this album would have such a country influence, as that is often thought of as being related to cowboys and therefore the land, but even when he is singing about the sea it all makes perfect sense. This is a thoroughly enjoyable release, and those who like country, but with more variety and edge thrown in than may often be the case, will find this a real joy and well worth discovering.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sam Bambery

Otautahi based songwriter Sam Bambery sits at the intersection between deep-hearted folk and edgy, thoughtful indie rock. His songs take the often introspective and personal road, championing both the heartbroken pessimist and the gleeful showman that dwells within him.

Having cut his teeth in the Garden City’s wide music scene, Bambery brings an assortment of influences to his work including Wilco, Steve Gunn, Sharon Van Etten. His band, The Sucrose Kids, is an ever-evolving arrangement of local musicians that approach his folksy, exploratory songs with a modern, artistic sensibility.

Having recorded alongside De Stevens (Marlin’s Dreaming, Asta Rangu), Sam Bambery aims to release his debut album Songs About Sailors on the 24th of March 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam Bambery

Releases

Songs About Sailors
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem