3 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

No Broadcast - Album Review: Lie In Orbit

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Back in May last year I was fortunate enough to catch No Broadcast supporting Dead Favours in Christchurch, since when I reviewed the title cut of this album when it was released as a single. Their last album was all the way back in 2015, but after four years hard work the guys are finally back with their third, and it was worth the wait. The trio of Joshua Braden (vocals, guitar), Chris Self (drums) and Kieran Colina (bass) are heavily influenced by the likes of Jakob, Mogwai, Radiohead, Sigur Ros, HDU, Muse, and the Mars Volta yet they also bring in pop sensibilities of the likes of Crowded House alongside Simple Minds and even some U2.

As one can understand from the influences mentioned, this is a band producing music of great depth, with multiple layering throughout, and production used very much as an additional instrument as it is such an important aspect of the overall sound. Whereas some bands go into the studio, lay down a track and then go for a beer, one can visualize these guys agonizing over every aspect of every song, possibly stopping for some Chirny’s Coffee now and then before getting back to the task in hand. This is music which feels as if it has been constructed in the studio, although having seen them play I know they are very capable indeed of reproducing much of this in the live environment. Once one gets inside the layers there is no escape as there is only the music, with the drums providing the cut through, the bass a strong melodic line, and then the guitars, all those guitars. Josh’s voice comes across as the natural extension of those, taking the sound to the next level. There is harmony, a beauty within, even though at times there may be distortion and a lack of clarity. It is all-encompassing so that when it is being played there is nothing else, just the album.

This demands to be played on headphones to get the full benefit, as it is only then that the complexity and nature of the music really takes control of the mind when the eyes are closed and there is no outside stimulus. There are times when they do crunch it up, as on On The Fence, but even then it is through the filter of their influences, creating something which is different yet still with lots of layers and a huge sound. Let’s hope they tour this, as this is a huge sound which needs a huge stage.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About No Broadcast

No Broadcast, a three-piece band formerly known as Anthesiac, move post rock and alternative rock into a dynamic powerhouse of sound, reminiscent of fellow New Zealand bands HDU, Kerretta and Jakob. Their music is surpassed only by the live experience.

Established in Christchurch, NZ in 2007, as Josh Braden (vocals, guitar), Sam Hood (bass), and Chris Self (drums), the three chaps formed a strong musical chemistry that is increasingly rare in bands today. Priding themselves on their ability to instinctively move their music where it wants to go, the group make for a live act audiences can't take their eyes off.

No Broadcast have gigged extensively over the past 5 years, playing various festivals and shows around the country with a variety of other local and national artists. They have played alongside rockers Beastwars, post-punk heavyweights Die! Die! Die! as well as supporting Mountaineater (former HDU members) and internationally renounced six-piece An Emerald City on the South Island leg of their 2011 New Zealand tour.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for No Broadcast

Releases

Lie In Orbit
Year: 2022
Type: Album
The Blueprint
Year: 2015
Type: Album
No Broadcast
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Live At The Dux
Year: 2014
Type: EP
1736
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Null And Void
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem