28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sin City - Album Review: Welcome to Sin City

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the full-length debut from Sin City, a duo formed around Jack Beesley and Nick Armstrong, who here have combined with producer Delaney Davidson on bass, John Segovia on lap steel and Alistair Deverick (Boycrush) on drums. Jack and Nick are probably best-known for their antics with garage punk rockers The Cavemen, and it was after that band’s world tour in 2019 that they relocated to Spain and knocked out about 100 songs. On returning to Auckland, they joined forces with Delaney who helped them knock that list down to 13 and then brought in some additional musicians to help them record their vision.

The result is an album which is drenched in old-fashioned good-time rock and roll, with stacks of country, soul and 70’s rock bands all messed up together to create something which is genuinely a load of fun. Most of the photos I have seen of them also has them holding glasses of beer (which are getting emptier in each shot) and that sums up this record, as it is music to enjoy, and the more you drink the better it gets until we are all joining in on the choruses. It veers between Bob Seger, Johnny Cash, The Faces, and somehow manages to mix in “straight” numbers with those which are more raucous and the more this is played the better it gets.

It is obvious that Jack and Nick are having a blast with this, and even the album cover makes one think of albums from 50 years ago, and the result is something which truly does not pander to any fashion or pigeonhole, but instead is about two guys doing what feels right. So, we can get slowed down numbers such as Hold On Little Girl which is steeped in sleazy blues, or we can get upbeat songs such as Bandit Of Love with wonderful honky tonk piano (they mess up the beginning of this, so just restart and kick it off again straight away, then kept the mistake on the album which makes me smile). This is honest music, from guys who apparently feel there is nothing wrong with wearing stetsons in Auckland, and why not?

This is an album which is old-fashioned in many ways, from the style of the songs even through to the length (39 minutes – a great fit for the TDK D-90 cassettes we all used in the Seventies), and it is designed to ensure the listener has a smile on their face by the end. Of course, if there is a good beer to hand then that smile will be so much wider. Too many musicians take themselves deadly seriously these days, but this album is all about having a good time, and that is damn fine by me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sin City

Having spent several years darkening doorways and gracing stages around the globe in other musical guises Sin City were formed in the dry desert heat of Spain’s Costa Blanca.

Originally hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, band-mates Jack Beesley and Nick Armstrong (The Cavemen), found themselves sharing a squalid room in the town of Alicante and spent several months writing songs inspired by their mutual love for outlaw country, barroom soul and rock ’n’ roll.

From Marty Robbins to Mink Deville, Glen Campbell to Gram Parsons and Bobbie Gentry to Bruce Springsteen, they draw their roots from a gumbo of 60's & 70's country-soul Americana. With these influences worn firmly on their sleeves, Sin City weave their own stories of drunken heartbreak, road-worn revelry and cowboy tinged murder-balladry into these classic forms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sin City

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sin City.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem