28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Slimivich - Single Review: Desert Shimmer

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This release is probably going to confuse quite a few people when they realise that the person behind Slimivich is none other than Slim Jenkins from Christchurch metal outfit Tainted, here back with his first new music in some time. But this isn’t metal, it is rap/hip-hop being taken in a new direction. This is not a style of music I often listen to, as for the most part I just don’t understand it (even I don’t like everything, and I have very broad tastes indeed), but there is something about this song which is strangely compelling. Most of that is down to the musical soundscapes he pits his vocals against, as this is Krautrock combined with industrial elements, and his lyrics are delivered in a somewhat slower style than many rappers and this combination creates something different, almost unsettling, which grabs the listener.

Those expecting something similar to his previous band will be in for a surprise, as although it would be a brave man to open for 8 Foot Sativa or Blindspott with this as he has with Tainted in the past, I can certainly see him fitting in well with the likes of Written By Wolves as in some ways he is just taking their dance music stylings further in the same direction (with far less guitar). There is a darkness behind this, which is more obvious in the intro and outro, when he is not vocalising, and while never metallic there is no doubt that he has taken some of his more extreme influences into this which has assisted in creating something which is combining different genres in an unusual manner. It will be interesting to see what he does with an album, but for now we will need to stay satisfied with a single which is intriguing.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Slimivich

Slimivich is the new sonic expression of barely suppressed rage from seasoned Otautahi metal front man 'Slim' Jenkins of Tainted infamy.

An entirely new direction for this veteran of the New Zealand heavy music scene, Slimivich doesn’t explode like previous metal releases, instead it radiates and crackles with all the danger and allure of overloaded high voltage circuits, glowing and arcing in the dark. From the chilling omen of haunting whispers , to the grueling punishment of unrelenting bass and synth, right up to the searing inferno of eruptive crescendo, Slimivich seeks to explore the depth and breadth of what could be considered “heavy” music.

Vocally this self driven project stems from a life long love of politically charged Rap and Hardcore Punk, simply punctuating it with flashes of more familiar heavy metal violence. All this vocal energy is dissolved into dark and shimmering self produced soundscapes that owe more to industrial, downbeat electronic, post-metal and shoe-gaze genres than the past hard hitting releases fans are accustomed to.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Slimivich

Releases

There are no releases to display for Slimivich.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem