1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Slimivich - Single Review: Desert Shimmer

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This release is probably going to confuse quite a few people when they realise that the person behind Slimivich is none other than Slim Jenkins from Christchurch metal outfit Tainted, here back with his first new music in some time. But this isn’t metal, it is rap/hip-hop being taken in a new direction. This is not a style of music I often listen to, as for the most part I just don’t understand it (even I don’t like everything, and I have very broad tastes indeed), but there is something about this song which is strangely compelling. Most of that is down to the musical soundscapes he pits his vocals against, as this is Krautrock combined with industrial elements, and his lyrics are delivered in a somewhat slower style than many rappers and this combination creates something different, almost unsettling, which grabs the listener.

Those expecting something similar to his previous band will be in for a surprise, as although it would be a brave man to open for 8 Foot Sativa or Blindspott with this as he has with Tainted in the past, I can certainly see him fitting in well with the likes of Written By Wolves as in some ways he is just taking their dance music stylings further in the same direction (with far less guitar). There is a darkness behind this, which is more obvious in the intro and outro, when he is not vocalising, and while never metallic there is no doubt that he has taken some of his more extreme influences into this which has assisted in creating something which is combining different genres in an unusual manner. It will be interesting to see what he does with an album, but for now we will need to stay satisfied with a single which is intriguing.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Slimivich

Slimivich is the new sonic expression of barely suppressed rage from seasoned Otautahi metal front man 'Slim' Jenkins of Tainted infamy.

An entirely new direction for this veteran of the New Zealand heavy music scene, Slimivich doesn’t explode like previous metal releases, instead it radiates and crackles with all the danger and allure of overloaded high voltage circuits, glowing and arcing in the dark. From the chilling omen of haunting whispers , to the grueling punishment of unrelenting bass and synth, right up to the searing inferno of eruptive crescendo, Slimivich seeks to explore the depth and breadth of what could be considered “heavy” music.

Vocally this self driven project stems from a life long love of politically charged Rap and Hardcore Punk, simply punctuating it with flashes of more familiar heavy metal violence. All this vocal energy is dissolved into dark and shimmering self produced soundscapes that owe more to industrial, downbeat electronic, post-metal and shoe-gaze genres than the past hard hitting releases fans are accustomed to.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Slimivich

Releases

There are no releases to display for Slimivich.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem