5 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corrella - Single Review: Seafarer

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Corrella are a 7-piece band based in Auckland who have real links to the sea as some of their members have been in the navy while others are still serving. The sea is something to which I have always had a close affinity, as I was raised in a small fishing community where most of the men on my mum’s side of the family were trawlermen while my dad was in the navy, and his father was a coastguard. There is something about the sea which always calls to me, and this song captures that so well, as Pipiwharauroa sings about returning to the sea, not going to the sea. We hear about the difficulty of leaving loved ones onshore, all wrapped up in a glorious melody and wonderful arrangement which is modern and timeless, all at the same time.

I noticed the band describe this as reggae and dub, and my initial reaction was that they were wrong and there was nothing of that here, and then I realised the snare was hitting on the third beat in the bar, and the groove I could feel was indeed that style of music, just masked. It begins with simple vocals and acoustic picked guitar, but as it progresses we get the rest of the band, first adding nuances and then gradually becoming full-blown. The accompaniment may be sparse at the beginning but when the drums come in everyone takes the opportunity to lay it down, with the rhythm section keeping it tight, the keyboards providing a backdrop, with some nice electric guitar touches here and there. We also have a second singer in Rebekah, and she harmonises beautifully which takes the song into a new level. The guitar solo in the middle is delicate and just right, and the result is a number which is both commercial and powerful at the same time.

The longer the song goes on, the more they allow themselves to enjoy it, with Rebekah adding some wonderful vocal touches, and is a song which makes the listener smile. It is never rushed, always relaxed, with the listener happily falling into the world Corrella have created.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Corrella

Quickly making a name for themselves with their sun-soaked reggae-inspired sound, Corrella are fast becoming a new favourite on the Aotearoa music scene. Their single Blue Eyed M?ori is the sleeper hit of 2023, and the band are set to continue that momentum with new single Lady Divine.

Named for the naval-base where the band met, Corrella’s first release, their self-titled EP was released in 2021, announcing their arrival on the reggae-music scene. They wasted no time following up with a series on singles through 2022, including the track Raumati, which was featured as part of the Waiata Anthems 2022 series.

Skankin', the first single from their album, announced their arrival to the wider music scene, making an impact on New Zealand radio. May saw the release of their debut full-length album, Road From 26. The album is a powerful, modern & outright vibe which takes the listener on a journey from Corrella’s past to present. With their signature feel-good roots-reggae, the album sees them incorporating funk, soul & pop-rock sounds throughout.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corrella

Releases

Road From 26
Year: 2023
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem