27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corrella - Single Review: Seafarer

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Corrella are a 7-piece band based in Auckland who have real links to the sea as some of their members have been in the navy while others are still serving. The sea is something to which I have always had a close affinity, as I was raised in a small fishing community where most of the men on my mum’s side of the family were trawlermen while my dad was in the navy, and his father was a coastguard. There is something about the sea which always calls to me, and this song captures that so well, as Pipiwharauroa sings about returning to the sea, not going to the sea. We hear about the difficulty of leaving loved ones onshore, all wrapped up in a glorious melody and wonderful arrangement which is modern and timeless, all at the same time.

I noticed the band describe this as reggae and dub, and my initial reaction was that they were wrong and there was nothing of that here, and then I realised the snare was hitting on the third beat in the bar, and the groove I could feel was indeed that style of music, just masked. It begins with simple vocals and acoustic picked guitar, but as it progresses we get the rest of the band, first adding nuances and then gradually becoming full-blown. The accompaniment may be sparse at the beginning but when the drums come in everyone takes the opportunity to lay it down, with the rhythm section keeping it tight, the keyboards providing a backdrop, with some nice electric guitar touches here and there. We also have a second singer in Rebekah, and she harmonises beautifully which takes the song into a new level. The guitar solo in the middle is delicate and just right, and the result is a number which is both commercial and powerful at the same time.

The longer the song goes on, the more they allow themselves to enjoy it, with Rebekah adding some wonderful vocal touches, and is a song which makes the listener smile. It is never rushed, always relaxed, with the listener happily falling into the world Corrella have created.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Corrella

Corrella are a 7-piece band based in Auckland, New Zealand.

They have a summery vibe to their music, which can be heard across Aotearoa. They take inspiration from bands like L.A.B, Six60 and Tomorrow People, while trying to create their own sound.

Corrella's music can be found on all major streaming platforms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corrella

Releases

There are no releases to display for Corrella.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem