1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corrella - Single Review: Seafarer

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Corrella are a 7-piece band based in Auckland who have real links to the sea as some of their members have been in the navy while others are still serving. The sea is something to which I have always had a close affinity, as I was raised in a small fishing community where most of the men on my mum’s side of the family were trawlermen while my dad was in the navy, and his father was a coastguard. There is something about the sea which always calls to me, and this song captures that so well, as Pipiwharauroa sings about returning to the sea, not going to the sea. We hear about the difficulty of leaving loved ones onshore, all wrapped up in a glorious melody and wonderful arrangement which is modern and timeless, all at the same time.

I noticed the band describe this as reggae and dub, and my initial reaction was that they were wrong and there was nothing of that here, and then I realised the snare was hitting on the third beat in the bar, and the groove I could feel was indeed that style of music, just masked. It begins with simple vocals and acoustic picked guitar, but as it progresses we get the rest of the band, first adding nuances and then gradually becoming full-blown. The accompaniment may be sparse at the beginning but when the drums come in everyone takes the opportunity to lay it down, with the rhythm section keeping it tight, the keyboards providing a backdrop, with some nice electric guitar touches here and there. We also have a second singer in Rebekah, and she harmonises beautifully which takes the song into a new level. The guitar solo in the middle is delicate and just right, and the result is a number which is both commercial and powerful at the same time.

The longer the song goes on, the more they allow themselves to enjoy it, with Rebekah adding some wonderful vocal touches, and is a song which makes the listener smile. It is never rushed, always relaxed, with the listener happily falling into the world Corrella have created.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Corrella

Corrella are a 7-piece band based in Auckland, New Zealand.

They have a summery vibe to their music, which can be heard across Aotearoa. They take inspiration from bands like L.A.B, Six60 and Tomorrow People, while trying to create their own sound.

Corrella's music can be found on all major streaming platforms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corrella

Releases

There are no releases to display for Corrella.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem