28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Odds & Ends - Single Review: Something Else

31 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I reviewed their last single, Picture, I said I could tell Odds & Ends had a sense of humour just from the cover, and that is the case again as here we have a digital release which features a pile of cassettes (which are apparently very much in fashion again, although I have no idea why). That song saw them break the Top 40 Singles chart, while it was in the Top 10 NZ Singles, and it is possible to see this going the same way. The guys have a wonderfully infectious pop rock style which sees them creating songs which are at home on the radio as they are in the live environment. This starts with the rhythm section creating a bright beat, and two guitars combining well, with one being picked but muted, but when Koen starts singing, they both drop away so it is just him, bass, and drums. This simple arrangement creates for quite a different beginning, meaning that when they all come back in there is a real sense of dynamics.

The more the song progresses the more attention we get from the arrangement, which manages to combine both funk and reggae in what is very much an alternative pop rock setting. With everyone singing it is no surprise that we get harmony gang vocals in the chorus, which works very well, again creating a contrast between other areas of the song. There are times when this is quite Split Enz in styling, and I am sure they have been paying close attention to the Finn brothers as this is very much in the Kiwi pop rock vein and is all the better for it. They have an all ages show coming up soon at Tuning Fork and that will be one not to miss.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Odds & Ends

With four principal songwriters and influences drawn from alt-rock, indie-pop, jazz, and funk, Odds & Ends are truly unique. The four musicians’ fusion of genres makes for a cohesiveness moving through the many sides this four-piece possesses. With countless local shows under their belt, these four musicians are ready to take on whatever challenge is tossed at their feet.

"If there is one thing I have noticed in the past time with the guys it’s that Odds and Ends put on shows that are anything but cliche. With numerous influences, we tie genres together from indie all the way to funk." ~ Max Earnshaw

Based in the depths of Auckland, New Zealand, Odds & Ends pride themselves in the fusion of multiple melodies and harmonies at the high-energy level of their live performance. All this is achieved while the four friends stay completely human, down to earth, and are the friendliest band you will meet in today’s scene.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Odds & Ends

Releases

Odds & Ends
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem