27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Chaddington Street Milk Collective - Album Review: Crescendo Ultima Morendo

30 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When Wellington-based Juddy first heard Love Junkie by California-based Sonnyboy he was so inspired that he started recording similar music himself. From there it was just a simple matter of contacting Sonnyboy and suggesting they collaborate on an album together, and this is the result. In these days of the internet it is much easier for artists to collaborate without ever meeting, and this certainly does not sound as if it was recorded in different geographical locations as there is a depth here which sounds much more as if the artists were working together in the same place. I have not heard the album which started all this, but do know Juddy’s debut, and in many ways, I was surprised at how different this is, as here we have a group which sound as if they have been influenced by Tangerine Dream and Depeche Mode and then put that into an instrumental pop context while also keeping somewhat of a close eye on where it could fit elsewhere.

Also, there are more instruments on this album, with distorted guitar making its presence felt very effectively indeed on Ruse Control. In many ways this is a step change from Juddy’s initial release as there is more depth and breadth within it (still has that annoying electronic percussion though). The two have bounced ideas off each other, truly collaborating, and the result is an album which touches on different musical genres which could well gain it some interest from different areas, with Night Time Rascals an obvious one for the dancefloor. Yet, the somewhat abrupt change in tempo and style near the end will undoubtedly confuse quite a few. There is a strong sense of purpose and direction throughout this, and they are content to break even quite short songs into different sections if that is the best way to approach then, which makes them far more interesting and relevant. This trans Pacific partnership definitely has legs and I am sure we will be hearing more from them in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Chaddington Street Milk Collective

The Chaddington Street Milk Collective is a duo forged through internet collaboration, Juddy from New Zealand and sonnyboy from California, USA.

The project was formed after Juddy, growing more weary of guitar-centric music was inspired by Sonnyboy's electronic sound and a mutual love of synthesizer infused retro video game soundtracks.

Juddy and Sonnyboy would send each other files back and forth and add to each others ideas, forming arrangements that Juddy would piece together and mix. Before they knew it they had enough material for a full-length album and released Crescendo Ultima Morendo on February 22nd, 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Chaddington Street Milk Collective

Releases

Crescendo Ultima Morendo
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem