1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Chaddington Street Milk Collective - Album Review: Crescendo Ultima Morendo

30 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When Wellington-based Juddy first heard Love Junkie by California-based Sonnyboy he was so inspired that he started recording similar music himself. From there it was just a simple matter of contacting Sonnyboy and suggesting they collaborate on an album together, and this is the result. In these days of the internet it is much easier for artists to collaborate without ever meeting, and this certainly does not sound as if it was recorded in different geographical locations as there is a depth here which sounds much more as if the artists were working together in the same place. I have not heard the album which started all this, but do know Juddy’s debut, and in many ways, I was surprised at how different this is, as here we have a group which sound as if they have been influenced by Tangerine Dream and Depeche Mode and then put that into an instrumental pop context while also keeping somewhat of a close eye on where it could fit elsewhere.

Also, there are more instruments on this album, with distorted guitar making its presence felt very effectively indeed on Ruse Control. In many ways this is a step change from Juddy’s initial release as there is more depth and breadth within it (still has that annoying electronic percussion though). The two have bounced ideas off each other, truly collaborating, and the result is an album which touches on different musical genres which could well gain it some interest from different areas, with Night Time Rascals an obvious one for the dancefloor. Yet, the somewhat abrupt change in tempo and style near the end will undoubtedly confuse quite a few. There is a strong sense of purpose and direction throughout this, and they are content to break even quite short songs into different sections if that is the best way to approach then, which makes them far more interesting and relevant. This trans Pacific partnership definitely has legs and I am sure we will be hearing more from them in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Chaddington Street Milk Collective

The Chaddington Street Milk Collective is a duo forged through internet collaboration, Juddy from New Zealand and sonnyboy from California, USA.

The project was formed after Juddy, growing more weary of guitar-centric music was inspired by Sonnyboy's electronic sound and a mutual love of synthesizer infused retro video game soundtracks.

Juddy and Sonnyboy would send each other files back and forth and add to each others ideas, forming arrangements that Juddy would piece together and mix. Before they knew it they had enough material for a full-length album and released Crescendo Ultima Morendo on February 22nd, 2022.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Chaddington Street Milk Collective

Releases

Crescendo Ultima Morendo
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem