27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Juddy - Album Review: I Am A New Tie Wearing

30 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Juddy originally started off as a guitarist in punk bands before discovering Love Junkie by Sonnyboy, which inspired him to invest in a MIDI keyboard and pull together an album which is apparently influenced by his love of mid 90’s video games. Mind you, even then those games must have been retro, as the sounds being utilised on this have a much better fit with the decade before. Musically this a somewhat unusual mix and while we have elements which fit within the ambient/New Age genres this is tempered with pop and real songs which to my ears would have benefited from not having the synthetic percussion which does not really work as a dance beat and actually detracts from the simplistic beauty of the material.

This is not the album of a seasoned keyboard player out to show off virtuoso skills but instead is about creating a mood, taking an idea and following it to the logical conclusion and in that way this works well. He layers different keyboard sounds that combine together to create different melody lines, and it is not unusual to have four or more different keyboards as he builds up the sound. Although simple, the very naivety of this is appealing and relaxing, as this is not a difficult album to listen to, and Juddy has created songs which are quite different to each other, something which can be a problem for some solo artists. This is because each song is far more than someone meandering around on keyboards waiting for an idea to come to them, then calling it done. While it may not give the listener a complete sense of direction it allows them to come on the journey and it will be interesting to see how Juddy moves on from here with his next release.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Juddy

Juddy is a musician from New Zealand who started writing songs as a teenager with a guitar, he later found the local punk scene and joined bands such as The Thems, The Gobshites Cookbook, Wheatbags Anonymous and Rat Dickz. Upon hearing Love Junkie by Sonnyboy he invested in a MIDI keyboard, fueled by his love of video game soundtracks from the nineties and made I Am a New Tie Wearing. Upon the success of that endeavour, Juddy harassed Sonnyboy for months to collaborate and they both successfully formed The Chaddington Street Milk Collective and the debut album Crescendo Ultima Morendo was released February 22nd, 2022.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Juddy

Releases

I Am a New Tie Wearing
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem