4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Fire For Glory - Gig Review: Fire For Glory @ Save Ding Emothon, Dead Witch, Auckland - 25/03/2022

Fire For Glory - Gig Review: Fire For Glory @ Save Ding Emothon, Dead Witch, Auckland - 25/03/2022

26 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Tonight was the Save Ding Emothon, with DJ sets in the main bar and then Fire For Glory playing a gig at Dead Witch upstairs. Of course, the decision was made that they would not start their set until 10:30 which was a pain in the neck as I decided that I was going to have dinner at the bar, so I was there for just after 7:00! Mind you, it did mean I had plenty of time to chat with the wonderful photographer Ginny Cocks before the show which was a very pleasant change indeed as normally we are both working so don’t have much chance for conversation. This was going to be my first full-on electric show for a while, but the COVID rules meant that everyone still had to be seated so it was quite a strange setup. The building had also suffered a major flood on all levels on the Monday prior, and one of the victims was the sound desk so a new one had to brought in for tonight. With the bar suffering so much due to the lockdowns this is not something which was wanted or needed. Still, the aim for this evening was to support the venue and show just how much it means to everyone, and there was a good crowd in.

Before they started playing Josh checked in with guitarist Cam and bassist Steve to see if they were okay, much to the delight of the crowd. When a band doesn’t take themselves too seriously and is going to have fun then it is pretty much a guarantee it is going to be a great gig and launching into the pop punk of Life of the Party they soon showed that is exactly what it was going to be. This was followed by Not The Enemy, with Josh using falsetto and it was great to hear a lot of the audience joining in, with many of them obviously knowing the words. This is a song of many sections, with Josh holding notes when he needs to and also producing some death style growls at others which was totally unexpected. Having not heard any of their music prior to tonight I was already having a great time, as their exuberance and energy is infectious while their songs are packed full of hooks.

The band have had some changes, and tonight were using a backing track for rhythm guitar, but this was not slowing them down at all with everyone throwing everything into it with stacks of energy. Grant blasts his way around the kit, Steve plays his bass with a huge grin on his face all the time, Cam crunches the riffs and then at the front is Josh. Not only is he a great singer but he is a consummate frontman who reminds me a great deal of Mark Colton of Credo, as he will do anything to get a reaction from the crowd, putting everything into his performance. By now the audience were looking quite strange, as they were singing, punching the air, moving around like crazy things, all without ever leaving their obligatory seats!

What’s New Scooby Doo? led straight into Fall Out Boy’s Sugar, We’re Going Down and this gig was definitely turning into a party. This is pop punk with elements of hardcore and they blend and segue through the different styles in a way which makes so much sense. If they are like this when the crowd is seated one has to wonder what happens at one of their gigs when everyone is able to mosh. This is music designed to get people to move, and even seated that was something everyone was doing. Tonight was my first rock gig in quite some time as most heavier bands decided not to attempt to play under the restrictions, but Fire For Glory certainly showed this could work. The word for tonight was “FUN”, as this is music about having a great time on stage and bringing everyone else along for the ride. Most of the set was their own material, with some songs going back a decade, but they also played a few covers with that material fitting in seamlessly with their own. They wrapped up the intensity when they went into A Favor House Atlantic, which I am sure is the first time I have ever heard a band attempt a Coheed and Cambria number, with Josh very much in control. Then they kicked into the only other cover of the night, Rise Against’s Savior, where Cam took on the role of lead singer for much of it as Josh had not done his homework and learned the lyrics. Not only was this a great cover (I cannot believe the audience stayed seated as there was so much energy coming off the stage), but Josh’s self-deprecating confession beforehand just endeared him even more to those watching.

They then lifted the intensity even further with Stray Dogs, an emo power pop punk anthem if ever I heard one. By now some guys down the front had decided the seating arrangements were there to be ignored and just had to get up and move, and I can’t say I blame them. This is another which has links to melodic hardcore which has bene influenced by the likes of Atreyu and is simply a load of fun. Josh had to start singing the next song at the bar as he needed to get himself a beer, but somehow this little sidestep made perfect sense in the context of the night which was both light-hearted and deadly serious with some great music being played at full bore.

Last song of the set was Loser, which contained some of the quickest passages they had played tonight, yet there was also room for the melodic pop punk hooks which are such a mainstay of their songs. This was a great set from a wonderful fun band who don’t take themselves too seriously, and I am looking forward to seeing them again when the crowd is allowed to move like they need to when a band is creating vibes like this.


Photo Credit: Ginny C Photography

 

About Fire For Glory

Fire For Glory were a pop-punk band based in Auckland (Now known as Stray Dogs). Bringing together elements of 2000’s era pop punk and post hardcore, Fire For Glory delivered high energy live shows that won them a solid local following throughout New Zealand, and the band made their second successful self-funded venture to Australia. As a result of a hard working, DIY touring ethic, the band earned themselves supporting slots with bands such as Motion City Soundtrack (USA), Hawthorne Heights (USA), Joyce Manor (USA) and Silverstein (Canada).

Fire For Glory saw great commercial success, having both of their EPs Phantoms, Ghosts and Monsters and The Kid’s Got Guts, and their LP Shipwreck! all reaching #1 on the iTunes New Zealand rock chart. The single Frog Prince from the second EP was also featured on Spotify’s official rock playlist, and gained the band high amounts of streaming attention.

Fire For Glory is now known as Stray Dogs!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fire For Glory

Releases

Life of The Party
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Shipwreck!
Year: 2017
Type: Album
The Kid's Got Guts
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem