27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goldsmith Baynes - Single/Video Review: To Ihu

20 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when one is sent a song which oozes class from every pore, and that is exactly what we have here in one of the most delicious and delightful jazz numbers I have ever come across. Goldsmith Baynes is a musical partnership between singer Allana Goldsmith and pianist Mark Baynes, but in this number they bring it out to a full band with Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa (drums), Alex Griffith (electric bass), Cameron Allen (saxophones), Jono Tan (trombone) and Mike Booth (trumpet and horn arrangement). Right from the off, one is taken by the sheer bounce and groove from the piano, which is quite repetitive, allowing Allana plenty of room to throw her voice around while also providing a platform for some wonderfully muted trumpet. It is a sound not used enough to my mind, and here it helps in throwing us back in time and if someone had told me this had been recorded back in the Sixties the only thing I would have queried would have been the production which is certainly very modern.

There is an obvious very strong musical relationship between Goldsmith and Baynes, as there are times when they are tied completely together with Baynes following her down the scales, but at others she has the freedom to really throw her voice, and we even get some scat here and there. Most of the lyrics are in Te Reo, which for a non-speaker such as myself allows me to concentrate on the voice as an instrument in its own right. ‘To Ihu’ translates to ‘butt out’, an idiom to tell someone not to interfere, and there is a sense of humour and joy within this which is carried through into the video.

Here we find Goldsmith and Baynes in a caravan, with Baynes on the piano while Goldsmith tries to get through to someone using a rotary dial phone. We see them swapping places, there are changes in the background etc, and somehow the video perfectly captures what is taking place in the song, and at the very end there is no doubt that the smile from Allana is totally genuine. The final line of the song is “Do you really want to know? Cause in the end you pay the man and then you die” and the music stops with both staring at the camera. Each time I play this I love it a little more, and hope the album is not too far away. Until then I can see me playing this on repeat as this is one of the best jazz numbers I have heard in a long time.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Goldsmith Baynes

The Goldsmith Baynes project is a celebration between two musical souls. The talented pair have worked together for over 10 years and their musical bond comes from freedom, a shared trust, and mutual respect. Goldsmith and Baynes have written a stunning collection of songs together, which will culminate in a debut album to be released late this year.

Goldsmith Baynes have performed at renowned festivals including the Waiheke Jazz Festival and Tauranga International Jazz Festival, and have been programmed for the 2022 Auckland Arts Festival. They also were invited to perform at the recent Aotearoa Music Awards 2021.

An exciting new project created by the renowned jazz artists Allana Goldsmith and Mark Baynes with vocals containing a beautiful mix of Maori and English language, their debut single Tipuna was released last year and featured on the Waiata Anthems 2021 compilation. A wonderful collaboration between two modern favourites of the jazz world, Goldsmith's soulful jazz vocal combines with British pianist Baynes' contemporary jazz stylings to produce this truly uplifting and remarkable record.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goldsmith Baynes

Releases

There are no releases to display for Goldsmith Baynes.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem