1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goldsmith Baynes - Single/Video Review: To Ihu

20 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when one is sent a song which oozes class from every pore, and that is exactly what we have here in one of the most delicious and delightful jazz numbers I have ever come across. Goldsmith Baynes is a musical partnership between singer Allana Goldsmith and pianist Mark Baynes, but in this number they bring it out to a full band with Hikurangi Schaverien-Kaa (drums), Alex Griffith (electric bass), Cameron Allen (saxophones), Jono Tan (trombone) and Mike Booth (trumpet and horn arrangement). Right from the off, one is taken by the sheer bounce and groove from the piano, which is quite repetitive, allowing Allana plenty of room to throw her voice around while also providing a platform for some wonderfully muted trumpet. It is a sound not used enough to my mind, and here it helps in throwing us back in time and if someone had told me this had been recorded back in the Sixties the only thing I would have queried would have been the production which is certainly very modern.

There is an obvious very strong musical relationship between Goldsmith and Baynes, as there are times when they are tied completely together with Baynes following her down the scales, but at others she has the freedom to really throw her voice, and we even get some scat here and there. Most of the lyrics are in Te Reo, which for a non-speaker such as myself allows me to concentrate on the voice as an instrument in its own right. ‘To Ihu’ translates to ‘butt out’, an idiom to tell someone not to interfere, and there is a sense of humour and joy within this which is carried through into the video.

Here we find Goldsmith and Baynes in a caravan, with Baynes on the piano while Goldsmith tries to get through to someone using a rotary dial phone. We see them swapping places, there are changes in the background etc, and somehow the video perfectly captures what is taking place in the song, and at the very end there is no doubt that the smile from Allana is totally genuine. The final line of the song is “Do you really want to know? Cause in the end you pay the man and then you die” and the music stops with both staring at the camera. Each time I play this I love it a little more, and hope the album is not too far away. Until then I can see me playing this on repeat as this is one of the best jazz numbers I have heard in a long time.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Goldsmith Baynes

The Goldsmith Baynes project is a celebration between two musical souls. The talented pair have worked together for over 10 years and their musical bond comes from freedom, a shared trust, and mutual respect. Goldsmith and Baynes have written a stunning collection of songs together, which will culminate in a debut album to be released late this year.

Goldsmith Baynes have performed at renowned festivals including the Waiheke Jazz Festival and Tauranga International Jazz Festival, and have been programmed for the 2022 Auckland Arts Festival. They also were invited to perform at the recent Aotearoa Music Awards 2021.

An exciting new project created by the renowned jazz artists Allana Goldsmith and Mark Baynes with vocals containing a beautiful mix of Maori and English language, their debut single Tipuna was released last year and featured on the Waiata Anthems 2021 compilation. A wonderful collaboration between two modern favourites of the jazz world, Goldsmith's soulful jazz vocal combines with British pianist Baynes' contemporary jazz stylings to produce this truly uplifting and remarkable record.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goldsmith Baynes

Releases

There are no releases to display for Goldsmith Baynes.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem