4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ellery Daines - Single Review: Imposter Syndrome

17 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Ellery Daines is back with the second single from his forthcoming album, Failure Thirty Minutes Deep, and I really wish he would hurry up and release that as it something I am really looking forward to, given just how different this is to the last single, No-one, which I also really enjoyed. Originally from Nelson, but now residing in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromsø, Ellery is a multi-instrumentalist who has been working on his album for some five years. Given that he wrote, performed, engineered, produced, and mixed everything, it is no real surprise it took so long as unlike many “multi-instrumentalists” I come across, he really is just that and the result is a song which sounds as if it were recorded by a band as opposed to one person living in the harsh reality that is the Arctic.

This is way more commercial than No-one, and while it has synth-wave at its heart there is also plenty of power pop and The Beatles, and I was surprised at just how much it reminded me of Dead Favours the more I played it, while Ellery states his influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age. Lyrically the song is something anyone interested in the underground scene, either as a musician or listener can really relate to, namely about being ignored as an artist. Ellery wrote it after giving up on performing music in New Zealand, frustrated after playing shows to mostly tiny audiences in an indifferent or hostile environment. "The people directly involved were all great, and there are so many extremely talented local artists around. But the general public by and large either didn't seem to care about local music, or actively made noise complaints. After so many shows like that, you start to lose perspective and wonder if maybe they know something you don't."

With yet another wonderful song from his forthcoming debut, it is safe to say that the lack of audience in no way relates to the music on offer, as this is a catchy hook-laden number which gets into the brain from the first play, and the more time one can give it, the more there is to discover. It is simple yet complex, right on the surface but also incredibly deep. The accompaniment can be heavily distorted or perfectly clear, and it is the arrangement which makes this such a special song, with so much going on within but never sounding overcrowded or compressed.

Now, where’s the album?!
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ellery Daines

Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromso. He makes rock music with overtones of punk, jazz and pop. His influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ellery Daines

Releases

Failure Thirty Minutes Deep
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Live At Backbeat
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Rants
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Ellery's Extended Play
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem