27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ellery Daines - Single Review: Imposter Syndrome

17 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Ellery Daines is back with the second single from his forthcoming album, Failure Thirty Minutes Deep, and I really wish he would hurry up and release that as it something I am really looking forward to, given just how different this is to the last single, No-one, which I also really enjoyed. Originally from Nelson, but now residing in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromsø, Ellery is a multi-instrumentalist who has been working on his album for some five years. Given that he wrote, performed, engineered, produced, and mixed everything, it is no real surprise it took so long as unlike many “multi-instrumentalists” I come across, he really is just that and the result is a song which sounds as if it were recorded by a band as opposed to one person living in the harsh reality that is the Arctic.

This is way more commercial than No-one, and while it has synth-wave at its heart there is also plenty of power pop and The Beatles, and I was surprised at just how much it reminded me of Dead Favours the more I played it, while Ellery states his influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age. Lyrically the song is something anyone interested in the underground scene, either as a musician or listener can really relate to, namely about being ignored as an artist. Ellery wrote it after giving up on performing music in New Zealand, frustrated after playing shows to mostly tiny audiences in an indifferent or hostile environment. "The people directly involved were all great, and there are so many extremely talented local artists around. But the general public by and large either didn't seem to care about local music, or actively made noise complaints. After so many shows like that, you start to lose perspective and wonder if maybe they know something you don't."

With yet another wonderful song from his forthcoming debut, it is safe to say that the lack of audience in no way relates to the music on offer, as this is a catchy hook-laden number which gets into the brain from the first play, and the more time one can give it, the more there is to discover. It is simple yet complex, right on the surface but also incredibly deep. The accompaniment can be heavily distorted or perfectly clear, and it is the arrangement which makes this such a special song, with so much going on within but never sounding overcrowded or compressed.

Now, where’s the album?!
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ellery Daines

Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromso. He makes rock music with overtones of punk, jazz and pop. His influences include The Living End, Shihad, Muse and Queens of the Stone Age.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ellery Daines

Releases

Live At Backbeat
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Rants
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Ellery's Extended Play
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem