30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eurenza - Single Review: Victim of Circumstance

17 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Following on from last year’s Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It EP, Eurenza are back with their next single. As with the EP, this is naïve thrash from the early days of the genre, with this being even more closely linked to the original NWOBHM scene. It commences with some shredding right at the beginning, leading eventually into the song itself, and while last time I felt it was a combination of Exodus and Metallica, this comes across more as Testament with Kreator with some Raven for good measure. However, although this is thrash, it feels way too much at one level, and some of that is down to the production, which does not carry enough depth and bottom end. Everything is based around the guitars, not enough importance is given to the bass, while the drums are very one-dimensional with much of the kick drum work being lost altogether. I would have liked to have heard more thought going into the arrangement, as this needs a strong and dynamic driving foundation in the rhythm section and here we just don’t have that.

Thrash is an exciting genre, and I can remember the birth of it very clearly indeed, yet this is just too one-dimensional to give it the gravitas and power it needs. I get the impression that this will work much better onstage than it does in the recorded version, a problem not uncommon with metal bands, as what I found is the more I played it, the less I enjoyed it. That it is highly polished is never in doubt, nor is the fact that Aidan Courtnell and Dan Caleno have a very strong playing relationship, and Dan has a great voice for this style of music. I do hope I can catch the guys at a gig in the future as I am sure that will provide a much better picture, but while I know there will be many metalheads who will love this, I am not really one of them.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Eurenza

Eurenza is a 4-piece metal band based in Auckland.

Eurenza stands out from the crowd with their unique, modern spin on the old-school Thrash of the 80's. Eurenza seeks to bring the neck-snapping energy back to the masses with their undying passion for playing faster, louder, and heavier with each song.

Eurenza entered the studio to begin forging their sound with a selection of original songs. By September of 2021, an incredibly strong 5 track EP was unleashed on the world – Good Luck… You’re Gonna Need It.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eurenza

Releases

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Jack Mcrae (drums).
Read More...
Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem