27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sins of Eve - Single Review: I Am

17 Mar 2022 // A review by Carl Hayman

Sins of Eve have just released their wickedly evil new single I Am. I’ve not heard of Sins of Eve before personally, but a little bit of a back story tells me that they have been around for quite some time on the rock scene in Christchurch but have recently rejigged their line-up with the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq on vocals.

They name their influences such as Black Sabbath and Hendrix, as well as Sevendust with a big tight heavy groove.

I’m a big fan of all of these bands, so was VERY eager to hit the go button, and upon initial listen through of their brand new single I could hear every single one of these influences, but the one I reckon they probably didn’t add to that list and should have, is Alice In Chains. I can hear a huge amount of Layne Staley/William Bradley DuVall as underpinnings in Lexie’s vocal lines, and also through the guitar solos which flow melodiously over the entire tune. Hell yeah!

They are what they say they are – big, tight, heavy and they have got groove. The guitars and bass sound massive, definitely a combo of dark dingey alley rock and stadium rock with big wailing guitar solos over the top courtesy of Paul Schurgers.

The single is grows on you each time you listen. The riff imprints itself in your brain, and Lexie’s vocals burrow deeper into your soul. There is a hint of some cowbell leading the tune through the second pre-verse section stepping up the game as it builds on you. Drummer Trefor Jones keeps tempo solid and tight through both verses and chorus. I almost feel with a with the guitar sitting high in the mix and vocals lower in the mix all the way through, Trefor could have loosened the hi-hats a little through the versus to keep the energy, but nonetheless, it doesn’t lack too much.

To sum it all up for you, heavy, dark, and a heart of stone. I’m pretty happy to say that I’d be stoked to hear more from these guys moving forward. If they ever end up playing the north island, you’ll definitely catch me at one of their shows.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sins of Eve

Sins of Eve was born from Paul Schurgers’ Guitar heritage in Christchurch Hard/Heavy Rock Bands - Tempest - 7 Tongues - Murder of Crows and Incarna. With the drive of Phill Keegan on Bass and now the inclusion of Lexie Mia Le Cocq’s powerful Vocals, Sins of Eve are not so much new on the scene as back on the scene.

The sound of the band is not that of any particular influential bands but that of the genres of Rock that came from the decades that the three instrumentalists have played and written music. For example Black Sabbath to Jimi Hendrix in the 70's – Iron Maiden '80's – White Zombie and Monster Magnet to Sevendust an Alice in Chains in the 90's and 2000's all with the same factor of ‘Big Tight Heavy Groove’.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sins of Eve

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sins of Eve.

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Arrays - Single Review: Forget Fast
03 May 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Remember the Names Armed In Advance or Stitches? Perhaps you should!
Read More...
The Mechanism - Single Review: Living in Colour
08 Apr 2022 // by Carl Hayman
People who follow the NZ music scene will have probably noticed by now that musicians tend to move in circles dabbling in different types of music, and often work on each other's projects or play in multiple bands throughout their careers. One of those awesome names to have hit the scene in recent times with 3 of his own EP’s is Geoff Ong.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Coffee
20 Feb 2022 // by Carl Hayman
Something a little different landed on my desk this morning, a new release from a Wellington rock trio Viices featuring Jake, Geordie, and Will. I’ve not heard Viices before, so I thought I’d read a few of their previous reviews and see if I could form a picture of what they might sound like.
Read More...
Head Like A Hole - Single Review: Goliath
03 Nov 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Head Like A Hole, arguably one of the greatest and most influential kiwi rock bands of our time. These guys have been around since longer than I’ve been listening to Rock!
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Wicked Game
09 May 2021 // by Carl Hayman
Well well well, the boys in Coridian have been at it again. Their new release is an absolute banger!
Read More...
Mat Gat - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem