8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: X

11 Mar 2022 // A review by Darryl Baser

Wellington based songwriter David Sutton has been regularly releasing albums of his original songs for a good few years now. This year he’s changed tack a bit and released a covers album.

X opens up in a bold way, with the ABBA classic Knowing Me, Knowing You. It is a faithful version, kind of reminding me of a cross between the original and the version done by Flying Nun band Superette on the compilation Abbasalutley.

What becomes apparent throughout David Sutton’s X album is that with each song, he’s made it his own; if the majority of the songs weren’t very well known songs, it would sound like another of his albums. He is a master of his own style.

The second song Name of The Game, isn’t another ABBA song, I think having it follow an ABBA song is both a stroke of genius, and an amusing wrong-footing move. It totally made me smile. The composition, especially in the pre-chorus, reminds me of a Robbie Williams melodic turn of phrase. I googled, but couldn’t get past ABBA or The Chemical Brothers songs of the same name.

By the time David launches into David Bowie’s Heroes, it is clear theses are songs he’s loved singing for a while. His take on this Bowie classic is credible. You can really hear his passion for the song as he really leans away from the microphone during the part about halfway through where he, like Bowie in the original, goes up and octave and pretty close to shouting. He does every part of this tune very well, vocal harmonies, ‘that’ classic guitar hook, which swims in and out of the song all included well.

Show Your Love, well I don’t know who wrote it, but I just don’t like it. It is a wonderful sentiment, which granted the world really needs now, and maybe if it was pumped into the Kremlin Mr Putin might withdraw and apologize, but I doubt it. However, I digress. A redeeming part is the vocal effect near the end, which makes me think of Lesley speaker.

The Black Sabbath song Changes is beautifully done, with maybe more of a lean toward the version Ozzy and Kelly Osbourne recorded. It is a beautiful song, which David Sutton does very well.

David's take on the Rolling Stones song Wildfire is pretty damn good too.

One of my favourite songs on the album is the Dragon classic April Sun in Cuba. Sutton is like a one-man Dragon, and his vocal on this frequently sung-along-with slice of fried Kiwi gold is pretty damn flash.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Planet B
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Eternal Memory
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Mad Cow - Single Review: Same Boat
01 Dec 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Same Boat is the latest single to be released Taranaki 3-piece Mad Cow. Mad Cow are mainstays of the New Plymouth have been around since the 1990’s in the North Island’s music scene, evolving from school band No Comment.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem