27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Not Okays - Single/Video Review: Better Days

10 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the second single from The Not Okays, following on from their cover of Bite Me which came out towards the end of last year. Noriel Wong (guitar), Aaron Prictor (guitar, vocals), Lauren Kate Borhani (vocals), Caitlin Clark (bass) and Bahador Borhani (drums) started this band as a fun excuse to be able to go out and blast some of their favourite Emo tunes, and this is their first original. From the sound quality, musicianship and the video, one would never realise this is a brand-new band, but the three guys also perform in MIRA, while Bahador is also in some outfit called Written By Wolves so they know what they are doing. Add to the mix that there are two couples in this group, then there is no surprise they are close-knit and tight.

The song starts gently, with some riffing guitars, lots of hi-hat and not much bass, and some vocals in the background before Lauren comes in all sweetness and light. I was quite surprised at just how gentle this was, starting to ramp up on the bridge with far more drums, and then we get into the chorus which has an interesting arrangement. There is a staccato approach to the guitars, so much so that there are gaps in the music, which allows Bahador to provide the strong backbeat while Lauren comes through with plenty of angst and anger. She is not just singing this, but is really living it, really punching the EMOtion.

The second verse has plenty of rimshots which gives a very different overall sound until we are back to the bridge and Bahador is again around the kit. Aaron joins in at different points, but his vocals are kept in the background to provide a slightly different feeling to the sound, and when he is given a few lines his vocals provide another melodic string to their bow, with some nice contrast to Lauren. The song has plenty of energy, and may only be 3 ½ minutes long, but there is a lot going on which allows for plenty of contrast and dynamics. Most of the guitars are riffs, with Aaron and Noriel rarely going off on their own, and Caitlin’s underlying bass is often simple, but she also moves around the neck when the time is right, adding additional nuances which combine into what is a radio-friendly commercial alternative rock song.

The video catches the band performing, with simple light transitions on each camera change, and it is incredibly effective. Often, videos focus on the singer to the detriment to the rest of the band, but this has been shot in a way where everyone has their fair share, even with plenty of time showing what is going on with the drums, which virtually never happens. It is light, and again wonderfully commercial and ties in incredibly well with the music. Given Bahador’s history with videos for WBW one might expect this to have been edited by him, but in fact he was working on the new WBW video while Lauren was editing this one, and as Lauren said to me, “Just a couple of emos working hard at home!!”

I am still a mad fan of their last single (5.6K views now, not bad for a debut with no gigs to promote it), and the sound and image they are portraying is going to take them a long way. I know we will all be hearing a great deal more about The Not Okays in the future, so check this out and get into them at the beginning.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Not Okays

The Not Okays are a five-piece emo revival band from Auckland, New Zealand, celebrating the fact that emo was never dead.

Having headlined Ding Dong Lounge's infamous emo nights since 2018 with covers, extensive lockdowns gave the band the push they needed to start working on original content and continue to support the rise of modern emo.

Lauren Kate Borhani - Vocals

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Not Okays

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Not Okays.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem