27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lorenzo Hazelwood - EP Review: Vol. 3

10 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Lorenzo Hazelwood last year with his single Same Mistake, which I thoroughly enjoyed, but due to one or two lockdowns I had been unable to catch either him or his band, Cut To The Bone, in concert. Thankfully, that was rectified last Saturday when he performed an acoustic gig (it’s hard to undertake rock gigs in Red Traffic Light) and I came away mightily impressed with his voice and approach to music. Lorenzo has a passion for acoustic guitar, combined with a love of grunge, and on this new five-track EP he has put the two together. To assist him on this he brought in the very-much-in-demand drummer Adam Tobeck (Outside In) plus LA-based bassist Dan Antunovich, while also tapping up his Close To The Bone bandmate Oscar Millar to provide some lead guitarwork.

One can imagine Lorenzo cutting the demos with just him and his acoustic, and then bringing in the musicians to really help him beef up the sound (there is also some string-style keyboards here and there). The result is something which is definitely a mix of different genres, and I found there is also an American country feel to it as well. This is something which Lorenzo can happily go out and perform on his own, and two of these songs were indeed aired the other night, or he can work them with a full band to take them in a different direction. He is not a singer/songwriter in the sense which many may think, but instead he is playing rock with an acoustic base, which is quite different. There are times when he slows it down and gently picks, such as on Weak, but this is all about providing contrast and soon the full band is back in, rocking it all along. Like all metalheads, I do have a soft spot for a bit of grunge now and then, but I have already preferred those taking that music in different directions such as the sadly missed The Symphony of Screams. But they thought of their music more as progressive grunge, while here the acoustic guitar is firmly in focus – we even get percussion on Ennui which takes it to a different place again!

Thinking man’s grunge maybe? However one wants to describe this EP, it is not like most of the grunge out there and is a million miles away from the likes of Smells Like Teen Spirit, and to my ears is all the better for it. This EP shows a maturity and depth which belies his young age, and is worthy of investigation who want their music to have strength and power with plenty of contrast and dynamics.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lorenzo Hazelwood

Lorenzo Hazelwood is a 22 year old musician from Auckland. Although he is most known for being the vocalist of local Auckland heavy rock Band Close To The Bone, he spends his time away from the band composing music on his own. Playing every instrument for his solo project, mostly as a way to be more productive. It's darker and more intimate than CTTB's roaring live sound. "It's a little more personal" - LH.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lorenzo Hazelwood

Releases

Vol. 3
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem