28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lorenzo Hazelwood - EP Review: Vol. 3

10 Mar 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Lorenzo Hazelwood last year with his single Same Mistake, which I thoroughly enjoyed, but due to one or two lockdowns I had been unable to catch either him or his band, Cut To The Bone, in concert. Thankfully, that was rectified last Saturday when he performed an acoustic gig (it’s hard to undertake rock gigs in Red Traffic Light) and I came away mightily impressed with his voice and approach to music. Lorenzo has a passion for acoustic guitar, combined with a love of grunge, and on this new five-track EP he has put the two together. To assist him on this he brought in the very-much-in-demand drummer Adam Tobeck (Outside In) plus LA-based bassist Dan Antunovich, while also tapping up his Close To The Bone bandmate Oscar Millar to provide some lead guitarwork.

One can imagine Lorenzo cutting the demos with just him and his acoustic, and then bringing in the musicians to really help him beef up the sound (there is also some string-style keyboards here and there). The result is something which is definitely a mix of different genres, and I found there is also an American country feel to it as well. This is something which Lorenzo can happily go out and perform on his own, and two of these songs were indeed aired the other night, or he can work them with a full band to take them in a different direction. He is not a singer/songwriter in the sense which many may think, but instead he is playing rock with an acoustic base, which is quite different. There are times when he slows it down and gently picks, such as on Weak, but this is all about providing contrast and soon the full band is back in, rocking it all along. Like all metalheads, I do have a soft spot for a bit of grunge now and then, but I have already preferred those taking that music in different directions such as the sadly missed The Symphony of Screams. But they thought of their music more as progressive grunge, while here the acoustic guitar is firmly in focus – we even get percussion on Ennui which takes it to a different place again!

Thinking man’s grunge maybe? However one wants to describe this EP, it is not like most of the grunge out there and is a million miles away from the likes of Smells Like Teen Spirit, and to my ears is all the better for it. This EP shows a maturity and depth which belies his young age, and is worthy of investigation who want their music to have strength and power with plenty of contrast and dynamics.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lorenzo Hazelwood

Lorenzo Hazelwood is a 22 year old musician from Auckland. Although he is most known for being the vocalist of local Auckland heavy rock Band Close To The Bone, he spends his time away from the band composing music on his own. Playing every instrument for his solo project, mostly as a way to be more productive. It's darker and more intimate than CTTB's roaring live sound. "It's a little more personal" - LH.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lorenzo Hazelwood

Releases

Vol. 3
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem