27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Kirby - EP Review: Songs To Depress Your Dog

09 Mar 2022 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Originally from Middlesbrough UK now based in Wellington, David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on the unusual musical combination of folk/folk-punk acoustic songs. Songs to Depress Your Dog is Kirby's second EP, following on from his 2020 debut EP Can’t Move For Doom.

The amalgamation of folk/folk punk acoustic is an original concept to me, but highly appealing. I ended up down a rabbit hole which I was more than happy to fall down.

The first track on this album, Airport gives you a good indication that David's writing style is lyrical poetry in an unfiltered and honest way. The combination of his broad accent, a few choice words and exceptional lyrics hooked me immediately.

I sat there on the couch and did not move from the first chord on this EP to the last. Then I turned to Spotify to hunt down as much David Kirby as I could, inhaling that as well. My partner mentioned he sounds like folk punk singer songwriter Frank Turner. Once I learned who he was, I agreed wholeheartedly.

Songs To Depress Your Dog is predominantly acoustic, however lead single The Shipping Forecast is an intensely good lively number that combines “a rock arrangement with traditional folk instrumentation” That would be no mean feat to accomplish, yet he succeeded in combining the two genres in an apparent effortless marriage of the two genres. This is one of two standouts for me in what is a superb EP.

Each track on this album has an engaging narrative, stories of love and life without being doused in saccharine, his ironic personality and unpretentious humour shine through.

The absolute standout track for me on Songs To Depress Your Dog is The Ghost Beside The Fire, this track literally gave me goosebumps with intense gripping storytelling, uncomplicated instrumentation and authentic melodic vocals. The result was a stunning Celtic sounding song that I now have on high rotation.

Songs To Depress Your Dog has been an education and a joy to listen to. I am off to investigate what else is down that folk-punk rabbit hole.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About David Kirby

Originally from Middlesbrough, UK, now living in Wellington, NZ. David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on folk/folk-punk acoustic songs.

In 2020, David recorded his debut EP Can’t Move For Doom with producer Jake Stokes. 2022 sees the release of David’s second EP, Songs to Depress Your Dog, featuring the lead single The Shipping Forecast.

As he never really got the hang of the jingly-jangly style of guitar, his style is mainly a lot of cowboy chords and self-deprecating lyrics about break-ups and being sad, but in person he's actually quite jolly. If you're ever in Wellington hit him up for a pint.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Kirby

Releases

Songs To Depress Your Dog
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Can't Move For Doom EP
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Colette Rivers - Single/Video Review: Memory Lake
08 May 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand-American indie folk artist Colette Rivers has just released a video for her latest song Memory Lake. The video was filmed on the shores of Lake Taupo and is also the theme of her song.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Hyperkunt
14 Apr 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based electronic artist Hybrid Rose has just dropped her fifth album which goes by the no nonsense name of Hyperkunt. A futuristic cyberspace like character with attitude occasionally courting controversy, Hybrid Rose continues to deliver inspiring original dance tunes infused with an abundance of attitude.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Count Me Out
31 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam, has just released the third and final instalment of her “pop trifecta” the last of three songs called Count Me Out. A light and airy original based around being stood up on a first date.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: One Puff Wonder
15 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Revulva are an eight-piece band from Wellington who describe themselves as “nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop”. A jazzy-pop octet who have just released their third single One Puff Wonder, which follows on from debut singles Sniffy Lady and Turning Out and builds on the foundation for their up and coming EP Girls Gotta Eat, set to be released late March 22.
Read More...
Little Ripples - Single Review: Little Bee
23 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Little Ripples are a children's music act from Whangarei Heads comprising of Sam and Emily Benges, plus their youngest son Arlo. The trio have recently released the first song from their album In My Garden.
Read More...
The Wax Birds - Single Review: Kansas
11 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Oxford Canterbury, smooth sounding acoustic duo The Wax Birds have just released their latest single Kansas. This is the follow up to their first album Slow Rise released in 2020, which impressed me with a lush country/folk mix of beautiful harmony and gentle flowing guitar.
Read More...
Neutrikk - EP Review: E-P 2
08 Dec 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland duo Neutrikk have just released their second EP. Cleverly called E-P 2, I must admit to spending longer than I should have trying to find the name of the EP in the Bio.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Like A Movie
16 Nov 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam has just released her follow up single to Glow in the trilogy of pop-oriented singles. Like A Movie is a track firmly aimed at the youth market "capturing the rift between romcoms and real life".
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem