28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Kirby - EP Review: Songs To Depress Your Dog

09 Mar 2022 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Originally from Middlesbrough UK now based in Wellington, David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on the unusual musical combination of folk/folk-punk acoustic songs. Songs to Depress Your Dog is Kirby's second EP, following on from his 2020 debut EP Can’t Move For Doom.

The amalgamation of folk/folk punk acoustic is an original concept to me, but highly appealing. I ended up down a rabbit hole which I was more than happy to fall down.

The first track on this album, Airport gives you a good indication that David's writing style is lyrical poetry in an unfiltered and honest way. The combination of his broad accent, a few choice words and exceptional lyrics hooked me immediately.

I sat there on the couch and did not move from the first chord on this EP to the last. Then I turned to Spotify to hunt down as much David Kirby as I could, inhaling that as well. My partner mentioned he sounds like folk punk singer songwriter Frank Turner. Once I learned who he was, I agreed wholeheartedly.

Songs To Depress Your Dog is predominantly acoustic, however lead single The Shipping Forecast is an intensely good lively number that combines “a rock arrangement with traditional folk instrumentation” That would be no mean feat to accomplish, yet he succeeded in combining the two genres in an apparent effortless marriage of the two genres. This is one of two standouts for me in what is a superb EP.

Each track on this album has an engaging narrative, stories of love and life without being doused in saccharine, his ironic personality and unpretentious humour shine through.

The absolute standout track for me on Songs To Depress Your Dog is The Ghost Beside The Fire, this track literally gave me goosebumps with intense gripping storytelling, uncomplicated instrumentation and authentic melodic vocals. The result was a stunning Celtic sounding song that I now have on high rotation.

Songs To Depress Your Dog has been an education and a joy to listen to. I am off to investigate what else is down that folk-punk rabbit hole.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About David Kirby

Originally from Middlesbrough, UK, now living in Wellington, NZ. David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on folk/folk-punk acoustic songs.

In 2020, David recorded his debut EP Can’t Move For Doom with producer Jake Stokes. 2022 sees the release of David’s second EP, Songs to Depress Your Dog, featuring the lead single The Shipping Forecast.

As he never really got the hang of the jingly-jangly style of guitar, his style is mainly a lot of cowboy chords and self-deprecating lyrics about break-ups and being sad, but in person he's actually quite jolly. If you're ever in Wellington hit him up for a pint.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Kirby

Releases

Songs To Depress Your Dog
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Can't Move For Doom EP
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Khailana - Single Review: Like A Demon
10 Nov 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Otaki based independent ethereal pop artist Khailana, has just released her third single Like A Demon. Four years in the making the track is a mystical and captivating song, a moody tale ultimately about “how people can construct an entire version of you based off of one little thing that you’ve said or done”.
Read More...
laura. - Single/Video Review: Safety in Numbers (Graeme Woller Remix)
08 Nov 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taranaki songwriter Laura Griffiths is releasing a banging dance remix of her hugely popular track Safety In Numbers. This version produced by Graeme Woller, transforms a “fun indie pop” tune into a dance banger.
Read More...
Claudia Robin Gunn - Album Review: Sing For The Sea
18 Oct 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland songwriter Claudia Gunn has recently released her latest family friendly album Sing For The Sea (Little Wild Ocean Friends). A robust 24 tracks of delightful marine themed songs.
Read More...
Erin Myers - Single Review: Bad Reception
12 Oct 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hamilton based multi-talented musician Erin Myers has taken a new musical direction with her latest release Bad Reception. An evocative track as the name suggests, telling a story of miscommunication and loneliness within a relationship.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single Review: Leaking - The English Whinging Song
20 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand's award winning pirate Captain Festus from the family entertainment troupe, Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show has recently released another single from his up-and-coming album Look Wot The Cat Dragged In. Leaking - The English Whinging Song is an unapologetic musical whinge of unfortunate events from this sometimes unlucky pirates adventures.
Read More...
Big Tasty - Single Review: Diamond Eyed
15 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based 9-piece funk and soul band Big Tasty have just released a groovy disco inspired track with an epic full sound. Diamond Eyed is possibly one of the best original 70's soulful disco beats I have come across in a very long time.
Read More...
Anthea de Milo - Single/Video Review: Mama Got It Bad
05 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lyttelton based soulful songwriter Anthea de Milo (Anthea Struthers of Saint Satori, Runabout Sue & The Harbour Union) has just released her outlandish (in the best possible way) debut single accompanied by an eccentric music video full of originality and colour. A combination of song and visuals that invade your senses with delightful quirkiness.
Read More...
Ella Minehan - Single Review: First Light
19 Aug 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based emerging female singer / songwriter Ella Minehan has just dropped her third single First Light. A smooth RnB sounding track which has been described as an upbeat, flirty track about taking chances with relationships.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem