27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jamie McDell - Album Review: Jamie McDell

04 Mar 2022 // A review by Roger Bowie

What a year it has been for Kiwis in Nashville. Just last month we had Cy Winstanley from Tattletale Saints pass through (on holiday), South for Winter play a few cameo gigs supporting the release of their great little record Luxumbra, and then Jackie Bristow releases her 5th album, recorded in Nashville, while she stayed locked down here in New Zealand.

And now Jamie McDell has returned from her big OE in Canada and the US. OK, she’s been back since August last year, but leaving behind an album in the can, also recorded in Nashville, and now out, about a week ago as well.

I spoke to Jamie last week, the day the album came out, about her experiences and her plans, and you can see that in our short interview (It’s a Wrap with Roger), but all the while I was immersing in the album, and this is what I found:

A coyote howl merges with steel and a banjo plunks us into zone comfort as Jamie McDell’s sweet voice emerges to tell us about the Dream Team, not as good as it seems, but subject matter aside, an angry burst of guitar sets us off on a journey which is both compelling and revealing: this extraordinary girl has arrived and she’s making a statement.

For the second time in a week, I am struck by the fullness and richness of the Nashville sound, or more specifically, the Nash Chambers sound and although Jamie feels that the album is just as much Nash’s as hers, that’s only true if you ignore her voice and her songs (which of course you can’t). The song may not be about this, but, indeed, they are a dream team.

Like many artists trapped in the pandemic of our times, albums come out late, and songs laid down over two long years wait yet another to be heard. This only adds to the stress of recording songs which collectively produce a statement, which the self-title of the album foreshadows, a bold statement which says, I’m Jamie McDell and this is my story, this is my past, and as for the future, I‘m ready for most things.

And so, as I talk to Jamie (over zoom) there’s a sense of release and relief in getting to the day when the album is out, the songs can be heard, and the songs themselves can be interpreted by the listener, and not weigh on Jamie’s shoulders like a burden of doubt and debt.

I say that because this is not only a great album musically, but also an intensely personal reflection from Jamie on life so far, such that in many ways relieving the burden of uncertainty and doubt is now a cathartic experience. How easy it is for us just to listen and enjoy!!

Catharsis also in the tone and content of many of the songs. In terms of family, the good, the bad, the tragic; the strength to get through it, submission to the passage of time, unconditional love. And in terms of embarking on a new life-phase with partner Jake, and the urge and need to shed baggage from the inner suitcases of the mind. No pressure! But ultimately, the epiphany that, at the end of the day, why be ashamed, why hold back from the losses and pains which make you into Something More?

Poignancy offset by triumph over adversity and crowned by confidence and self-assurance are the building blocks for this statement of Jamie McDell that she is ready for the next chapter of her life. Well, almost. Parenthood? Not Ready Yet. Great song (and note carefully that there is a “yet”).

But hang on a moment, this is not a sad album at all, despite the themes. On the contrary, it’s gushing with all the ingredients of classic Americana – a little pop, a little rock, a little gospel, a little folk, and lots of plunkety-plunk, and pedal and bottle and pick and bow. Many moments where a breakout into a jammy live version is straining at the leash. A song about the temptation to go cosmetic, but resisted, there’s already enough beauty, no need for Botox, keep the Limousine Running. And, as already alluded, so well arranged and produced with cameos from all over and a sensational Nashville Cats band. Cameos: Tom Busby (Busby Marou) on Poor Boy; Robert Ellis, superbly contrasting on the tongue-in-cheek Worst Crime; Erin Rae on Where Are You Now. And there is an Anthem also, a new “Sailing”, this time Sailor. Imagine the McCrary Sisters by a lighthouse scanning the sea for a lonely and lost sailor. Well, it happens. On this record! Jamie McDell from Mission Bay! Look out Dave Dobbyn, there’s a new anthem in town!

And dominating the record is the Jamie McDell voice, and the Americans are already saying Stevie Nicks. Well, that would get anyone’s attention, so I applaud the effort to break through the mass of promotional propaganda to get some airplay, but I have to object. It can only be Stevie on a good day, like 1976, but this, ladies and gentlemen, is Jamie McDell in 2022!!

Jamie McDell is proud of her new album, and so she should be. I’m proud too, proud to have Jamie from Mission Bay (now Bay of Plenty) in our growing cohort of fantastic Kiwi Americana artists making waves in America. We all can and should be proud.

Jamie McDell has made an incredible, almost prefect album called Jamie McDell. I give it the high 5.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Jamie McDell

Jamie McDell was brought up in a musical family and started writing songs from a young age. Winner of Best Pop Album at the 2013 New Zealand Music Awards.

"If you were going to put money on Kiwi music's "next big thing", Jamie McDell is your best bet... her homemade videos have turned her into a YouTube sensation, leaving industry heavyweights predicting global success for the beach-loving girl from Mangawhai." - View, The Sunday Star Times.

"Jamie McDell's cover [of One Direction's 'One Thing'] reminds us of Jewel. And that's a good thing!" - Perez Hilton

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jamie McDell

Releases

Jamie McDell
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Extraordinary Girl
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Ask Me Anything
Year: 2015
Type: Album
All That I Wanted
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Six Strings And A Sailboat
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Al Park - Album Review: Pony
26 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Last year it was a Rooster. This year it’s a Pony.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Single Review: Forever Loved
12 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Somewhere, over the rainbow, Samuel Philip Cooper’s Nana is still sitting in her favourite chair, a grey-haired old lady with a hint of a smile enjoying the late afternoon sun dappling into her garden. In reality Samuel’s Nana passed away during lockdown and he never got to say goodbye.
Read More...
Album Review: Tess Liautaud
12 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Oh, the people of Christchurch have got music and soul everywhere, and yet another singer/songwriter emerges with an astonishingly mature debut and an international pedigree. Tess Liautaud is French, American and now Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tablefox @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 06/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
It’s New Zealand Music Month and here we all are at Anthology Lounge for the much awaited and much postponed Tablefox new album launch for Battles. It’s been a right old battle getting the new album out and played live, and this gig was originally scheduled for last August.
Read More...
Davey Beige - EP Review: Rise Above
05 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Davey Beige comes straight out of the blocks on his new EP Rise Above. 80 In A 50km Zone is just what it implies, we’re off and running at almost top speed, even though “Life goes way too fast”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jackie Bristow @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 28/04/2022
30 Apr 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jackie Bristow brought her new album Outsider to Anthology Lounge in Auckland on Thursday night, inside it’s warm and intimate and the seats are out. We’re still getting used to an almost post-Covid world but enough brave souls have come out to make this a proper gig and to experience the little things which make live music so special.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Album Review: Man on Mars
11 Apr 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Tony Lee is a Man on Mars. With a “here we go” Tony Lee’s band launch into a hootenanny rocking billy of an opening song which reminds me of the kind of frantic rhythm you might see and hear at Roberts Western World of a night, any night, on Broadway in Nashville.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Album Review: Outsider
03 Mar 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jackie Bristow has travelled a long, rough-hewn road. It’s nearly seven years since her last album, the gentle and sweet Shot of Gold.
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem