22 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jamie McDell - Album Review: Jamie McDell

04 Mar 2022 // A review by roger.bowie

What a year it has been for Kiwis in Nashville. Just last month we had Cy Winstanley from Tattletale Saints pass through (on holiday), South for Winter play a few cameo gigs supporting the release of their great little record Luxumbra, and then Jackie Bristow releases her 5th album, recorded in Nashville, while she stayed locked down here in New Zealand.

And now Jamie McDell has returned from her big OE in Canada and the US. OK, she’s been back since August last year, but leaving behind an album in the can, also recorded in Nashville, and now out, about a week ago as well.

I spoke to Jamie last week, the day the album came out, about her experiences and her plans, and you can see that in our short interview (It’s a Wrap with Roger), but all the while I was immersing in the album, and this is what I found:

A coyote howl merges with steel and a banjo plunks us into zone comfort as Jamie McDell’s sweet voice emerges to tell us about the Dream Team, not as good as it seems, but subject matter aside, an angry burst of guitar sets us off on a journey which is both compelling and revealing: this extraordinary girl has arrived and she’s making a statement.

For the second time in a week, I am struck by the fullness and richness of the Nashville sound, or more specifically, the Nash Chambers sound and although Jamie feels that the album is just as much Nash’s as hers, that’s only true if you ignore her voice and her songs (which of course you can’t). The song may not be about this, but, indeed, they are a dream team.

Like many artists trapped in the pandemic of our times, albums come out late, and songs laid down over two long years wait yet another to be heard. This only adds to the stress of recording songs which collectively produce a statement, which the self-title of the album foreshadows, a bold statement which says, I’m Jamie McDell and this is my story, this is my past, and as for the future, I‘m ready for most things.

And so, as I talk to Jamie (over zoom) there’s a sense of release and relief in getting to the day when the album is out, the songs can be heard, and the songs themselves can be interpreted by the listener, and not weigh on Jamie’s shoulders like a burden of doubt and debt.

I say that because this is not only a great album musically, but also an intensely personal reflection from Jamie on life so far, such that in many ways relieving the burden of uncertainty and doubt is now a cathartic experience. How easy it is for us just to listen and enjoy!!

Catharsis also in the tone and content of many of the songs. In terms of family, the good, the bad, the tragic; the strength to get through it, submission to the passage of time, unconditional love. And in terms of embarking on a new life-phase with partner Jake, and the urge and need to shed baggage from the inner suitcases of the mind. No pressure! But ultimately, the epiphany that, at the end of the day, why be ashamed, why hold back from the losses and pains which make you into Something More?

Poignancy offset by triumph over adversity and crowned by confidence and self-assurance are the building blocks for this statement of Jamie McDell that she is ready for the next chapter of her life. Well, almost. Parenthood? Not Ready Yet. Great song (and note carefully that there is a “yet”).

But hang on a moment, this is not a sad album at all, despite the themes. On the contrary, it’s gushing with all the ingredients of classic Americana – a little pop, a little rock, a little gospel, a little folk, and lots of plunkety-plunk, and pedal and bottle and pick and bow. Many moments where a breakout into a jammy live version is straining at the leash. A song about the temptation to go cosmetic, but resisted, there’s already enough beauty, no need for Botox, keep the Limousine Running. And, as already alluded, so well arranged and produced with cameos from all over and a sensational Nashville Cats band. Cameos: Tom Busby (Busby Marou) on Poor Boy; Robert Ellis, superbly contrasting on the tongue-in-cheek Worst Crime; Erin Rae on Where Are You Now. And there is an Anthem also, a new “Sailing”, this time Sailor. Imagine the McCrary Sisters by a lighthouse scanning the sea for a lonely and lost sailor. Well, it happens. On this record! Jamie McDell from Mission Bay! Look out Dave Dobbyn, there’s a new anthem in town!

And dominating the record is the Jamie McDell voice, and the Americans are already saying Stevie Nicks. Well, that would get anyone’s attention, so I applaud the effort to break through the mass of promotional propaganda to get some airplay, but I have to object. It can only be Stevie on a good day, like 1976, but this, ladies and gentlemen, is Jamie McDell in 2022!!

Jamie McDell is proud of her new album, and so she should be. I’m proud too, proud to have Jamie from Mission Bay (now Bay of Plenty) in our growing cohort of fantastic Kiwi Americana artists making waves in America. We all can and should be proud.

Jamie McDell has made an incredible, almost prefect album called Jamie McDell. I give it the high 5.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Jamie McDell

When she was just age 7, Jamie McDell’s father left a high paying job at an elite Auckland law firm to shift her mother, younger sister and Jamie onto the high seas and began living aboard a yacht in the Mediterranean. It’s here Jamie wrote her first song, a sea shanty to the dolphins. Also on that yacht lived a small collection of her parents’ favourite cassette tapes, which luckily included albums by Jimmy Buffett, John Denver and James Taylor. The young artist quickly formed a particularly strong bond with these records and she fondly remembers watching her parents perform Buffett duets - and occasionally chiming in, learning how to harmonise with her mother and sister. An eager learner, Jamie then picked up the guitar after studying her fathers’ John Denver chord book collection and has never looked back.

Now at age 30, New Zealand singer/songwriter Jamie McDell has achieved a prolific amount in her formative years. Being signed to EMI at age 16 sparked the beginning of a successful musical journey, making her a household name across the nation. With the release of her debut album Six Strings and a Sailboat, she went on to achieve Gold album sales, receive three NZ Music Award nominations, winning Best Pop Album of 2013. Then her sophomore record Ask Me Anything gained global attention, seeing album track Moon Shines Red featured on American TV series 'Pretty Little Liars'.

In March 2017 Jamie made a trip to Nashville, looking for a change of scenery and to

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jamie McDell

Releases

Jamie McDell
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Extraordinary Girl
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Ask Me Anything
Year: 2015
Type: Album
All That I Wanted
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Six Strings And A Sailboat
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By roger.bowie

Album Review: Subset BC
16 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Here’s an interesting little thing from Gisborne. A funky little band with three bass players.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Best of Come Together @ The Civic Theatre, Auckland - 9/12/2023
12 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Get your heads around this line-up:  The singers: Jon Toogood, (lead and backing vocals), Julia Deans (lead and backing vocals), Dianne Swann (lead and backing vocals and occasional guitar), Samuel Flynn Scott (vocals and guitar), James Milne (lead and backing vocals), Milan Borich (Mick vocals) The players: Jol Mulholland (guitars and vocals), Brett Adams (lead guitar and vocals), Mike Hall (bass), Matthias Jordan (keyboards), Alastair Deverick (drums), Finn Scholes (trumpet, clarinet and percussion), Nick Atkinson (sax and percussion).  Stopped spinning?
Read More...
A Crude Mechanical - Album Review: Discourse
08 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Shane Warbrooke doesn’t believe in lyrics, because of the risk of lyrics being hi-jacked and meanings bent to suit ideologies which he doesn’t like. Well, such ideologies which most of us don’t like, truth be known, but then again, Beethoven didn’t write lyrics, so the freedom of speech counter argument only goes so far.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Phoenix Foundation @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 24/11/2023
26 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
This is a first of many things. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen The Phoenix Foundation play live.
Read More...
Velvet Arrow - Album Review: Songs of Solitude
17 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
A Song Of Hope & Fear would normally be a contradiction in terms unless darkness prevails and light shines through, which is an appropriate metaphor for the debut album from Whangarei’s Velvet Arrow and the opening song, with Dan Stenhouse’s husky voice helping us through the night against a ghostly horror wail from Hannah Jane. After all it’s just a song to help you through the night, just the words that speak, it’s not real.
Read More...
Gig Review: Atomic: Women of Rock @ The Civic, Auckland - 11/11/2023
13 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
What a feast of nostalgia we’ve had from Liberty Stage (Simone Williams) these past few years, as New Zealand’s finest have Come Together to cover the classic albums which made the soundtracks of our youth. In addition to this, there have also been special tributes like Tami Neilson’s rock ‘n roll party with Dinah Lee, just last month.
Read More...
Dimmer - Album Review: Live At The Hollywood
09 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
Wow, not very often that we see alive album these days, an unusual beast, but that’s we have, a 14-track monster from Dimmer, recorded from last year’s sold-out trilogy at the Hollywood Avondale. Which, if you didn’t get to go last year, you can still see on December 2nd at the Powerstation, unless, like me, you are going instead to The War on Drugs.
Read More...
Killergrams - EP Review: Lonely Nights In A Little Town
27 Oct 2023 // by roger.bowie
Someone walked out, and Tom Maxwell has lost his mind, in a gentle, acoustic way. Then his mind explodes in a cacophony of chaos, which might just be what it feels like, losing something that important.
Read More...
View All Articles By roger.bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem