27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Glad Rabbit - EP Review: Pophits & Coffee

24 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

You must give this Dunedin quartet plenty of kudos for their name, as I don’t think I have smiled so much on seeing one since I came across Mice on Stilts years back. This is the debut release from Jack Ringhand (vocals, guitar), Ayumu Kobayashi (bass, vocals), Tom Corrigan (organ, vocals) and Ryan Finnie (drums, vocals). They describe themselves as a pop-sludge rock band, but there is very little in terms of sludge, and even when they slow it down, we are only possibly getting into stoner, unless they are a very different outfit live from what I am currently listening to.

Putting that to one side, what these three songs give us is an insight into a band who have definitely captured the Dunedin sound, and have combined that with strong guitar, a powerful rhythm section, pop hooks and an organ. Yep, a solid to goodness organ. Outside the jazz scene, there are very few bands who want to use the good old Hammond B3 (one reason is that it weighs a ton, not fun to move up and down stairs), so I am guessing it is a modern equivalent, but it has that classic sound which Keith Emerson loved so well.

This is often higher in the mix than the guitar, with the rhythm section keeping all together and Jack’s vocals over the top. Opener Demons has a real alt-country feel to it, combined with rock and long held-down organ chords. It has a real groove and is just plain fun. Distorted bass and guitar take more of a lead on Recognise which is way more poppy in nature, with Jack’s vocals sometimes reminding me of Feargal Sharkey and I can imagine John Peel loving this band back in the day. The arrangements seem quite simple, but there is quite a deal of complexity as well, with Tom putting himself front and centre or disappearing into the background, depending on the moment. RIP Kitty makes me think of a cop movie soundtrack each time I play it, with Jack singing slightly lower, picking a guitar line with the organ more in the background.

There is a definite power in what they do, and they can explode in a frenzy when the time is right, and I am sure they are a much heavier beast in concert than how they come across on this release. This is a solid introduction from the band and I certainly they make it up to Auckland at some point as I would love to see them at Ding Dong. This EP is easily available on Bandcamp and is well worth grabbing a listen.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Glad Rabbit

From the Dunedin alt-rock circuit emerges Glad Rabbit, a four-piece sludge-pop rock band. Known for their energy during live performances, their music is the sonic manifestation of an old-time carnival ride gone off the rails due to a few too many loose screws. This chaotic quartet put three of their ear worm-ridden tunes to tape with their debut EP release pophits&coffee released February 19, 2022. Recorded at Sublime Studios, mixed by Mike Holland, and mastered by Abbey Road Studios, this brief record packs punch with grooves burstings through its seams.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Glad Rabbit

Releases

pophits&coffee
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Torn Chorus - Single Review: The Meaning of Light/Rhythm of Sound
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Torn Chorus is Franklin Davis, an Auckland-based songwriter, musician, and photographer, who provides bass, various guitars, and vocals. This is about how he perceives the world through light and sound, as a photographer and musician.
Read More...
Moofish - Single/Video Review: Ash Tree Lament
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to knowing very little about MOoFiSh apart from that they are a duo of Rhonda Hofmans Johnson and Chris Fish Johnson, and while Rhonda is the lead singer I don’t know if they create all the music themselves or if other musicians are involved. They have been releasing music since 2018, and my first thought on playing on this was “how on earth am I going to be able to describe this”?
Read More...
Shadowcaster - Single Review: Cast a Shadow
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is a band when it comes to performing live, in the studio Shadowcaster is a one-man affair with Trent Graham performing all manner of guitars and some keyboards. While it contains elements of the likes of Mumford & Sons there is also a very definite nod to The Levellers and our very own Albi & The Wolves (although with no violin).
Read More...
STATES - Single/Video Review: Hostage
26 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It has been a year since States released their last single, Relentless, but they were caught up in the COVID lockdowns and even though they recorded drum tracks at the end of 2020 they were unable to complete the songs. However, they are in the studio right now with Zorran Mendonsa (Devilskin, Coridian, City of Souls, Blacklistt) and hopefully they will be releasing material throughout the rest of the year as if this is anything to go by then we are on for a treat.
Read More...
Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem