28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Barry Holt Cohort - Single Review: 21st Century Rant

24 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington band The Barry Holt Cohort comprises of Barry on guitars and vocals, Chris Coad on fretless bass and Louie Levin on drum machine. Hailing from Liverpool, Barry grew up when that city was going through a period of austerity, and it is no surprise to hear punk and post punk in his style as well as The Beatles (of course) and T-Rex. There is an almost spoken style to some of his vocals, which made me think somewhat of a softer Joe Jackson, and there is an almost hypnotic feel to the repetitive melody. Apart from the chorus and bridge, the song follows the same pattern throughout, based on a simple bass motif, 4/4 drums and a 12-string acoustic. An electric guitar and an accordion add additional elements, but the underlying theme is never far away.

One can seriously imagine this being released on Stiff Records or through Rough Trade back in the day, as this is anti-establishment to the core, with lyrics which are political and current, which is perhaps not surprising given the title of the song. There is a clever twist in the chorus in that the lyrics change slightly so a different emphasis can be provided each time around, which is a surprise the first time it happens. It is a song which hopes that people will listen to what is being said and question what is in front of them, as is what is being portrayed actually real or just an illusion or falsehood? I can imagine Barry sharing a stage with John Cooper Clarke, with music which is simple, raw and incredibly real, with little in the way of polish or trickery, but instead relying on the words and the repeated motif to haul the listener in.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Barry Holt Cohort

If you are a song writer from Liverpool, The Beatles are always going to be a big influence. Barry Holt is no exception. However, the influences exerted by the Fab Four are tempered by the experience of growing up in post punk Britain, in a city terrorized by the recession and the brutality of Margaret Thatcher’s Conservative government.

Add to this a multi-generational family tradition of being drafted into the army to fight Britain’s wars, and with the Falklands War threatening during his early years, many of Barry’s songs feature a dark message on the impact of conflict on life.

Barry Holt is a singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist who writes in various genres and styles including for classical guitar and scoring for film and advertising. With the Barry Holt Cohort, a fluid association of musical accomplices, his main instrument is the 12 string acoustic guitar. He has performed his music on a number of continents over several decades, most recently Australia. He is now resident in New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Barry Holt Cohort

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Barry Holt Cohort.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem