27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Barry Holt Cohort - Single Review: 21st Century Rant

24 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington band The Barry Holt Cohort comprises of Barry on guitars and vocals, Chris Coad on fretless bass and Louie Levin on drum machine. Hailing from Liverpool, Barry grew up when that city was going through a period of austerity, and it is no surprise to hear punk and post punk in his style as well as The Beatles (of course) and T-Rex. There is an almost spoken style to some of his vocals, which made me think somewhat of a softer Joe Jackson, and there is an almost hypnotic feel to the repetitive melody. Apart from the chorus and bridge, the song follows the same pattern throughout, based on a simple bass motif, 4/4 drums and a 12-string acoustic. An electric guitar and an accordion add additional elements, but the underlying theme is never far away.

One can seriously imagine this being released on Stiff Records or through Rough Trade back in the day, as this is anti-establishment to the core, with lyrics which are political and current, which is perhaps not surprising given the title of the song. There is a clever twist in the chorus in that the lyrics change slightly so a different emphasis can be provided each time around, which is a surprise the first time it happens. It is a song which hopes that people will listen to what is being said and question what is in front of them, as is what is being portrayed actually real or just an illusion or falsehood? I can imagine Barry sharing a stage with John Cooper Clarke, with music which is simple, raw and incredibly real, with little in the way of polish or trickery, but instead relying on the words and the repeated motif to haul the listener in.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Barry Holt Cohort

If you are a song writer from Liverpool, The Beatles are always going to be a big influence. Barry Holt is no exception. However, the influences exerted by the Fab Four are tempered by the experience of growing up in post punk Britain, in a city terrorized by the recession and the brutality of Margaret Thatcher’s Conservative government.

Add to this a multi-generational family tradition of being drafted into the army to fight Britain’s wars, and with the Falklands War threatening during his early years, many of Barry’s songs feature a dark message on the impact of conflict on life.

Barry Holt is a singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist who writes in various genres and styles including for classical guitar and scoring for film and advertising. With the Barry Holt Cohort, a fluid association of musical accomplices, his main instrument is the 12 string acoustic guitar. He has performed his music on a number of continents over several decades, most recently Australia. He is now resident in New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Barry Holt Cohort

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Barry Holt Cohort.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem