1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Greta O'Leary - Single Review: Outnumbered

24 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Outnumbered is the debut single from Poneke alt-folk artist Greta O’Leary, and from the first delicate picked notes on guitar, violin and double bass, the listener is being brought into an incredibly atmospheric world. Her voice belies her age, as one can never believe that anyone as young as this could have suffered the pain this voice brings us. Over time a few more instruments are added to the mix, but it is always her voice at the heart of everything, the dark light in the cave, with everything else crushing around but not daring to get into the glimmer, no matter how dim it is. I was trying hard to think who she reminded me of, and the closest I could get to was Patti Smith, but that was still wrong, and then while reading her bio I saw a name I hadn’t thought of in years, Vashti Bunyan, and it all fell into place. For those who have never heard of Vashti, she released an album in 1970, Just Another Diamond Day, which was recorded with the assistance of Simon Nicol and Dave Swarbrick (both Fairport Convention) and Robin Williamson (The Incredible String Band). It sold so poorly that she dropped out of the music business altogether for more than 30 years, yet it is still an incredible album (I am almost ashamed to admit I only have it on CD, but the original vinyl is a collector’s item).

Vashti has since been hailed as the godmother of freak folk, and that is a great description for this single as it is acoustic, with a free-thinking aesthetic and a refusal to conform. Greta’s voice is multi-dimensional and is something of an acquired taste in that there is a great deal going on, and sometimes she can even seem to be slightly off key, however, this is part of the attraction and it combines to provide additional depth and emotion to the proceedings. I really wasn’t too sure the very first time I played this, as even though I play a great deal of folk, this does not sound like anyone else I have heard recently, and it took some time for my ears to become accustomed to the song. Consequently, I cannot imagine this getting much airplay in a time when music is disposable and only fit for the background (or at least that’s what most people seem to think). But for those prepared to actually listen, this is a truly deep emotional and atmospheric performance, and I am keen to hear the EP she is promising for later this year as I am sure that will be a real treat.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Greta O'Leary

Blending ancestral undertones with precise insight, Poneke alt-folk artist Greta O’Leary's music is rich and penetrating.

With her captivating voice and dark humour she creates haunting, yet relatable human offerings. Sometimes likened to folk artists Mountain Man and Vashti Bunyan, but with hefty range and a little grit. Take a journey across her nostalgic and evocative inner world.

Growing up deathly shy and eccentric on a rural property, Greta lived in her own curated imaginative world. Ripe conditions for creativity, but not integration. She walks to her own step - it's fun, it's tragic, it's pure life. "Writing and feeling is truly all that has ever made sense to me".

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Greta O'Leary

Releases

There are no releases to display for Greta O'Leary.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem