27 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Little Ripples - Single Review: Little Bee

23 Feb 2022 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Little Ripples are a children's music act from Whangarei Heads comprising of Sam and Emily Benges, plus their youngest son Arlo. The trio have recently released the first song from their album In My Garden. Aptly named Little Bee is a delightful educational track about why bees are so important.

Accompanying Little Bee is a colourful, beautifully illustrated video that was made with the help of Whanganui-A-Tara production company Rdystdy, which would appeal to younger children and adults alike. The song itself has an enchanting serene folk sound which flows in a way that would capture children's imaginations with its storyline and delivery.

Emily delivers soft harmonious vocals that complement the instrumentation wonderfully. The lyrics unfold into a descriptive and interesting lesson on why bees are important, what are their different jobs, what does pollination mean and most importantly how can we help them? The song was born when a lonely little bee was spotted laying tired and thirsty on a concrete path about to be stepped on, prompting inquisitive discussion from a group of kindergarten children.

This track is not only educational, it is also very charming and rather catchy. Little Bee is one of 14 tracks that make up the up and coming album, which I am sure will be a treat to hear.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Little Ripples

Little Ripples is sweet children’s folk music dreamed up in the midst of family life. As parents and teachers we felt a need to create music that speaks to the unique experiences of children growing up in Aotearoa and to connect with the hearts of the people raising them. Our sound is driven by rich three part harmonies paired with the ukulele, guitar and double bass creating a soulful heartwarming sound to carry songs that promote connection and well-being.

Little Ripples songs have been around for years in our homes, camping in the bush, at school and kindy and have woven their way into the hearts of the children in our local Whangarei community. In the past three years we have self-funded and produced two beautiful albums the first released in early November 2018 has spread little ripples of hearty musical goodness for children and their families further afield selling the majority of our albums first pressing. We are very excited to release our second album Rise and Fall in September 2019.

With requests from families dotted around Aotearoa for house concerts and chances to see us perform and a new album to release plans are afoot for a Summer tour in 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Little Ripples

Releases

There are no releases to display for Little Ripples.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single Review: Leaking - The English Whinging Song
20 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand's award winning pirate Captain Festus from the family entertainment troupe, Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show has recently released another single from his up-and-coming album Look Wot The Cat Dragged In. Leaking - The English Whinging Song is an unapologetic musical whinge of unfortunate events from this sometimes unlucky pirates adventures.
Read More...
Big Tasty - Single Review: Diamond Eyed
15 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based 9-piece funk and soul band Big Tasty have just released a groovy disco inspired track with an epic full sound. Diamond Eyed is possibly one of the best original 70's soulful disco beats I have come across in a very long time.
Read More...
Anthea de Milo - Single/Video Review: Mama Got It Bad
05 Sep 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lyttelton based soulful songwriter Anthea de Milo (Anthea Struthers of Saint Satori, Runabout Sue & The Harbour Union) has just released her outlandish (in the best possible way) debut single accompanied by an eccentric music video full of originality and colour. A combination of song and visuals that invade your senses with delightful quirkiness.
Read More...
Ella Minehan - Single Review: First Light
19 Aug 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based emerging female singer / songwriter Ella Minehan has just dropped her third single First Light. A smooth RnB sounding track which has been described as an upbeat, flirty track about taking chances with relationships.
Read More...
Taylor Roche - Single Review: day&night
18 Aug 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Pop/RnB artist and TikTok personality Taylor Roche has just dropped his latest catchy offering day&night. Described as "rebellious 80's synth pop" this is an upbeat track detailing a broken relationship hanging by a thread.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: How Lovely
07 Jul 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Self-proclaimed “Hillbillies in Hiluxes” Big Scout from Blenheim (Jim Tannock, Mathew Hellriegel and Gregg Slatter) are an original 3-piece band full of loud fast paced energy that may (or may not) be post punk (not to be pigeonholed). The band's third single off their up-and-coming debut album Council Sport is How Lovely, an assault on your senses in the best way.
Read More...
Colette Rivers - Single/Video Review: Memory Lake
08 May 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand-American indie folk artist Colette Rivers has just released a video for her latest song Memory Lake. The video was filmed on the shores of Lake Taupo and is also the theme of her song.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Hyperkunt
14 Apr 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based electronic artist Hybrid Rose has just dropped her fifth album which goes by the no nonsense name of Hyperkunt. A futuristic cyberspace like character with attitude occasionally courting controversy, Hybrid Rose continues to deliver inspiring original dance tunes infused with an abundance of attitude.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem