27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Little Ripples - Single Review: Little Bee

23 Feb 2022 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Little Ripples are a children's music act from Whangarei Heads comprising of Sam and Emily Benges, plus their youngest son Arlo. The trio have recently released the first song from their album In My Garden. Aptly named Little Bee is a delightful educational track about why bees are so important.

Accompanying Little Bee is a colourful, beautifully illustrated video that was made with the help of Whanganui-A-Tara production company Rdystdy, which would appeal to younger children and adults alike. The song itself has an enchanting serene folk sound which flows in a way that would capture children's imaginations with its storyline and delivery.

Emily delivers soft harmonious vocals that complement the instrumentation wonderfully. The lyrics unfold into a descriptive and interesting lesson on why bees are important, what are their different jobs, what does pollination mean and most importantly how can we help them? The song was born when a lonely little bee was spotted laying tired and thirsty on a concrete path about to be stepped on, prompting inquisitive discussion from a group of kindergarten children.

This track is not only educational, it is also very charming and rather catchy. Little Bee is one of 14 tracks that make up the up and coming album, which I am sure will be a treat to hear.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Little Ripples

Little Ripples is sweet children’s folk music dreamed up in the midst of family life. As parents and teachers we felt a need to create music that speaks to the unique experiences of children growing up in Aotearoa and to connect with the hearts of the people raising them. Our sound is driven by rich three part harmonies paired with the ukulele, guitar and double bass creating a soulful heartwarming sound to carry songs that promote connection and well-being.

Little Ripples songs have been around for years in our homes, camping in the bush, at school and kindy and have woven their way into the hearts of the children in our local Whangarei community. In the past three years we have self-funded and produced two beautiful albums the first released in early November 2018 has spread little ripples of hearty musical goodness for children and their families further afield selling the majority of our albums first pressing. We are very excited to release our second album Rise and Fall in September 2019.

With requests from families dotted around Aotearoa for house concerts and chances to see us perform and a new album to release plans are afoot for a Summer tour in 2020.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Little Ripples

Releases

There are no releases to display for Little Ripples.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Colette Rivers - Single/Video Review: Memory Lake
08 May 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand-American indie folk artist Colette Rivers has just released a video for her latest song Memory Lake. The video was filmed on the shores of Lake Taupo and is also the theme of her song.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Hyperkunt
14 Apr 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based electronic artist Hybrid Rose has just dropped her fifth album which goes by the no nonsense name of Hyperkunt. A futuristic cyberspace like character with attitude occasionally courting controversy, Hybrid Rose continues to deliver inspiring original dance tunes infused with an abundance of attitude.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Count Me Out
31 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam, has just released the third and final instalment of her “pop trifecta” the last of three songs called Count Me Out. A light and airy original based around being stood up on a first date.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: One Puff Wonder
15 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Revulva are an eight-piece band from Wellington who describe themselves as “nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop”. A jazzy-pop octet who have just released their third single One Puff Wonder, which follows on from debut singles Sniffy Lady and Turning Out and builds on the foundation for their up and coming EP Girls Gotta Eat, set to be released late March 22.
Read More...
David Kirby - EP Review: Songs To Depress Your Dog
09 Mar 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Middlesbrough UK now based in Wellington, David Kirby is a singer/songwriter focusing on the unusual musical combination of folk/folk-punk acoustic songs. Songs to Depress Your Dog is Kirby's second EP, following on from his 2020 debut EP Can’t Move For Doom.
Read More...
The Wax Birds - Single Review: Kansas
11 Feb 2022 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Oxford Canterbury, smooth sounding acoustic duo The Wax Birds have just released their latest single Kansas. This is the follow up to their first album Slow Rise released in 2020, which impressed me with a lush country/folk mix of beautiful harmony and gentle flowing guitar.
Read More...
Neutrikk - EP Review: E-P 2
08 Dec 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland duo Neutrikk have just released their second EP. Cleverly called E-P 2, I must admit to spending longer than I should have trying to find the name of the EP in the Bio.
Read More...
Sabreen Islam - Single Review: Like A Movie
16 Nov 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based young singer-songwriter Sabreen Islam has just released her follow up single to Glow in the trilogy of pop-oriented singles. Like A Movie is a track firmly aimed at the youth market "capturing the rift between romcoms and real life".
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem