27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Human Susan - EP Review: Fun Is Fun

20 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

According to their Bandcamp page, Human Susan is an alien trying to assimilate herself into the world, navigating the absurdity and mundanity of human embodiment. A crunchy and sparkly cosmic soup. More accurately, one could instead say that this Dunedin-based quintet comprise Ruth Crowe (vocals, keyboards), and Caitlin Lester (vocals, keyboards, recorder), Connie Benson (guitar), Jenny Duncan (drums) and Perry Goldsmith (bass). This four-track EP, 17-minute-long-EP is their debut release and finds them diving strongly into the punk and post punk world of the late Seventies and very early Eighties. The first bands which sprung to mind when trying to think of a comparison was The Slits and X-Ray Spex, although early Bow Wow Wow also is not too far away.

One might imagine with two keyboard players in the band that one would find these much more to the fore, but instead they are used sparingly and for additional effect here and there. Due to the mix, the sound one often concentrates the most on are the drums as they are incredibly raw and real and have been put placed ahead of the rest of the sound, sometimes even overlaying the vocals. The most overtly musical element within this is Perry who keeps the melody going with a nicely understated bass line which is often overwhelmed by the highly distorted and cranked guitar. One can imagine the latter being even more dynamic and, in your face, when they play live, as when Connie is playing, she has a massive impact. Interestingly, they also have passages where her input is either slight or somewhat muted, and the arrangements have a great deal of space within them which allow Ruth and Caitlin to pursue a duo or beck and call approach to their singing without it ever becoming overwhelming and compressed.

Their version of punk can be light-hearted and fun, look at the EP title, but there is also depth in what they are playing and singing about, with Sorry being a case in point. This commences with recorders, and the repeated line They can’t touch your body, if they can’t see it. I have four adult daughters, and the Me Too movement is something which has resonated very closely with me, and the repeated refrain at the end of I’m sorry, when one is singing about parts of her body, is incredibly deep and powerful. They can be naively melodic at times, more frantic at others, always staying true to a strong punk and post punk ethic, and anyone interested in the genre would do well to seek them out.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Human Susan

Photo Credit: Andrew @ KEAPHOTOS.COM




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Human Susan

Releases

Fun Is Fun
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem