28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Human Susan - EP Review: Fun Is Fun

20 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

According to their Bandcamp page, Human Susan is an alien trying to assimilate herself into the world, navigating the absurdity and mundanity of human embodiment. A crunchy and sparkly cosmic soup. More accurately, one could instead say that this Dunedin-based quintet comprise Ruth Crowe (vocals, keyboards), and Caitlin Lester (vocals, keyboards, recorder), Connie Benson (guitar), Jenny Duncan (drums) and Perry Goldsmith (bass). This four-track EP, 17-minute-long-EP is their debut release and finds them diving strongly into the punk and post punk world of the late Seventies and very early Eighties. The first bands which sprung to mind when trying to think of a comparison was The Slits and X-Ray Spex, although early Bow Wow Wow also is not too far away.

One might imagine with two keyboard players in the band that one would find these much more to the fore, but instead they are used sparingly and for additional effect here and there. Due to the mix, the sound one often concentrates the most on are the drums as they are incredibly raw and real and have been put placed ahead of the rest of the sound, sometimes even overlaying the vocals. The most overtly musical element within this is Perry who keeps the melody going with a nicely understated bass line which is often overwhelmed by the highly distorted and cranked guitar. One can imagine the latter being even more dynamic and, in your face, when they play live, as when Connie is playing, she has a massive impact. Interestingly, they also have passages where her input is either slight or somewhat muted, and the arrangements have a great deal of space within them which allow Ruth and Caitlin to pursue a duo or beck and call approach to their singing without it ever becoming overwhelming and compressed.

Their version of punk can be light-hearted and fun, look at the EP title, but there is also depth in what they are playing and singing about, with Sorry being a case in point. This commences with recorders, and the repeated line They can’t touch your body, if they can’t see it. I have four adult daughters, and the Me Too movement is something which has resonated very closely with me, and the repeated refrain at the end of I’m sorry, when one is singing about parts of her body, is incredibly deep and powerful. They can be naively melodic at times, more frantic at others, always staying true to a strong punk and post punk ethic, and anyone interested in the genre would do well to seek them out.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Human Susan

Photo Credit: Andrew @ KEAPHOTOS.COM




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Human Susan

Releases

Fun Is Fun
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem