28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kendall Elise - Gig Review: Kendall Elise @ Kumeu Live, Kumeu - 19/02/2022

20 Feb 2022 // A review by Roger Bowie

It’s an easy drive out west on this balmy February evening because everyone must be somewhere else or dodging aerosol missiles at home or flinching at the news from Ukraine. Kumeu Live is a small venue fashioned out of the Arts Centre with seating for 40-50 inside and an open flow outside to benches on a concrete court. Intimate setting for a red-light night for the red earth girl from red earth. Which is Papakura.

The venue host quotes Picasso: ”Art washes away from the soul, the dust of everyday life.” Keep your mask on, unless seated, there’s a lot of everyday life dust around thirsting for music to wash it away.

Opening act invited to stage. Beth Torrance is 17 and goes to school in Thames and writes songs and plays guitar and codes collaboratively on Scratch. Her EP is just out, and tonight we get to hear it in the raw, clipped vocals almost whispered, probably more nerves than affectation, but just enough to whet the interest and a search for files on Bandcamp which aren’t yet there but spotty-fi is last resort. Sweet indie pop, anthems of teenage angst and the pain of new emotions; love and likes juxtaposed with boredom, ennui and hopelessness “nothing matters and then we die”. Songs like Let’s Move To The Seaside and Never Feel Lonely Again, I’m So Sorry (I Really Love You); Arson and Stars. Her music reminds me of a stripped back Yo La Tengo or Courtney Barnett and then she covers Phoebe Bridgers and makes Phoebe sound like Beth Torrance. Play It Strange are supporting Beth and they know how to pick ‘em. Assurance and confidence grow with the set and with a little more audience interaction and she will be on her way. Very interesting indeed. Really really really like you.

Dusk falling, it’s time to let the night in, let the music flow, let all our worries, including teenage angst, dissipate as Kendall Elise, with just maestro guitarist John behind her, opens her set with the album’s title song. Third Time Lucky, this album launch tour, and curtailed at that, red light rules, smaller audiences, but determination to play last year’s sophomore album live is admirably persistent, and so here we are, letting the night in. It's ok, it's more than ok, it’s just fab.

The full band take the stage, Chris Kemp on drums, Rob Scott on bass, Kevin Place on rhythm guitar and the aforementioned John Segovia on magical guitar. Between Hello and Goodbye a break up song with a whistle, Something’s Gotta Give, the first song written for the album, way back in 2019, how bad things were back then, yeah right, how good things actually were in the light of what was to come. Nothing actually gave, something took.

Appropriate then, and surprise of the night, that a song from the first record pops up next, one I haven’t heard before, and… wow! “When night falls, the cold creeps in, that’s when I’ll be waiting” Black Dog. Song builds, band cuts loose, Segovia shines, this is a great song, should be played always.

Two of the sweetest songs on the album next, well almost, on the setlist there’s a question mark which shouldn’t be there. Who Kissed Who? Is a long song to husband Chris, and Kingdom isn’t to be, as Kendall shies off a song which is recorded in three part harmony. I’m sad. She’s a little unsure of doing the song without support. She needn’t be. Instead she pops in a cover, Who Will Save Your Soul, by Jewel Kirchner. Great song; helps me through my pain.

First time live, Make You Shine, moaning steel, perfectly rendered, with its classic opening line, “are you drunk from the airport?” No song can fail after a line like that. New single and album opener, Honest Hand, classic country, and another reminder how easy Kendall’s songs are, straightforward and direct. No effort required to suss these songs out. What you hear is what you get, just let the songs wash over you like a warm bath. Sexy song next, Kendall’s voice going sultry and deep as the tempo climbs. What I Want.

And with that, we are off and running with a fast tempo yee hah of a song, the title track from Red Earth. And thus begins a romp to the finish as the band rockabillies out the fast songs from the album, including the classic Suzi Quatro cover, Your Mama Won’t Like Me, before encoring with the classic first hit, Heart Full of Dirt. Red haired red dirt girl from red earth.

The moon is an egg as I drive back east on an almost deserted motorway, strange times indeed, Humpty Dumpty has had a great fall, and yet, the dust of everyday life has been washed away for just a moment by the power of music played live, and my angst is suppressed by the elation of Kendall Elise.

Set List

1.Let The Night In
2.
Between Hello and Goodbye
3.
Something’s Gotta Give
4.
Black Dog
5.
Who Kissed Who
6.
Who Will Save Your Soul
7.
Make You Shine
8.
Honest Hand
9.
I Want
10.
Red Earth
11.
You Got To Be A Little Mad
12.
Your Mama Won’t Like Me
13.
Heart Full of Dirt


Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk / Zed Pics

 

About Kendall Elise

Kendall Elise is an intriguing story teller with a hint of yesteryear. With trademark quirky touches and flawless vocal delivery she has been turning heads since the release of her EP in 2017 I Didn’t Stand A Chance . Fresh from touring with Kiwi born, LA based Gin Wigmore and supporting Larkin Poe at their sold out Auckland show.
 
Her Debut single Heart Full of Dirt was a finalist for the APRA Best Country Music Song 2017.

Kendall Elise has just released her debut album, of which singles The Clock Tower and Valentine Street feature. The album debuted at number 12 on the NZ Music Album Charts.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kendall Elise

Releases

Let The Night In
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Red Earth
Year: 2019
Type: Album
I Didn't Stand A Chance
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Anthea de Milo - Album Review: The Vicar's Daughter
27 Nov 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Out of a cavernous ballroom in Kurow comes the soulful mourning of Anthea de Milo with an old classic, just written, Just in Case. Anthea de Milo?
Read More...
Come Together: The Beatles @ Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Auckland - 12/11/2022
13 Nov 2022 // by Roger Bowie
The Beatles wrote much of their ninth album, their first double, on a Transcendental Meditation course in India with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, in early 1968. They called it simply “The Beatles”, but, in contrast to the previous album cover for Sergeant Pepper, extreme in colour and pageantry, this album was just…….
Read More...
Adam Hattaway & The Haunters - Gig Review: Adam Hattaway and the Haunters @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 04/11/2022
07 Nov 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Rick Topp opened for Adam Hattaway and the Haunters on Friday night three hours before pumpkin time. You know Rick Topp, you might not think so, but you do.
Read More...
Adam Hattaway & The Haunters - Album Review: Bug Eyes
03 Nov 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Have you ever looked a bug in the eye? It’s scary stuff.
Read More...
Gig Review: Come Together - Tom Petty @ Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Auckland - 30/10/2022
31 Oct 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Tom Petty hit us like a bullet train in 1976. It was London, and prog rock was being challenged by punk.
Read More...
Thrashing Marlin - Album Review: Wildlife
28 Oct 2022 // by Roger Bowie
I wasn’t sure about anything, let alone a band, called Thrashing Marlin]. Are they beating a marlin with a rod or are they invoking a marlin trying to shake off a hook?
Read More...
Gig Review: Aldous Harding @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2022
28 Oct 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Ah, Aldous, it’s been three years since you filled the PowerStation twice and etched your name and face in our annals. Three long years, only relieved by a cameo at the Flying Nun birthday party last year.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mel Parsons @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 15/10/2022
16 Oct 2022 // by Roger Bowie
I’m slow on the lesson, I’m slow on the learn, getting into Mel Parsons has been a slow burn. Painting the fence got me started last November before her solo gig at Tuning Fork.
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem