27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kendall Elise - Gig Review: Kendall Elise @ Kumeu Live, Kumeu - 19/02/2022

20 Feb 2022 // A review by Roger Bowie

It’s an easy drive out west on this balmy February evening because everyone must be somewhere else or dodging aerosol missiles at home or flinching at the news from Ukraine. Kumeu Live is a small venue fashioned out of the Arts Centre with seating for 40-50 inside and an open flow outside to benches on a concrete court. Intimate setting for a red-light night for the red earth girl from red earth. Which is Papakura.

The venue host quotes Picasso: ”Art washes away from the soul, the dust of everyday life.” Keep your mask on, unless seated, there’s a lot of everyday life dust around thirsting for music to wash it away.

Opening act invited to stage. Beth Torrance is 17 and goes to school in Thames and writes songs and plays guitar and codes collaboratively on Scratch. Her EP is just out, and tonight we get to hear it in the raw, clipped vocals almost whispered, probably more nerves than affectation, but just enough to whet the interest and a search for files on Bandcamp which aren’t yet there but spotty-fi is last resort. Sweet indie pop, anthems of teenage angst and the pain of new emotions; love and likes juxtaposed with boredom, ennui and hopelessness “nothing matters and then we die”. Songs like Let’s Move To The Seaside and Never Feel Lonely Again, I’m So Sorry (I Really Love You); Arson and Stars. Her music reminds me of a stripped back Yo La Tengo or Courtney Barnett and then she covers Phoebe Bridgers and makes Phoebe sound like Beth Torrance. Play It Strange are supporting Beth and they know how to pick ‘em. Assurance and confidence grow with the set and with a little more audience interaction and she will be on her way. Very interesting indeed. Really really really like you.

Dusk falling, it’s time to let the night in, let the music flow, let all our worries, including teenage angst, dissipate as Kendall Elise, with just maestro guitarist John behind her, opens her set with the album’s title song. Third Time Lucky, this album launch tour, and curtailed at that, red light rules, smaller audiences, but determination to play last year’s sophomore album live is admirably persistent, and so here we are, letting the night in. It's ok, it's more than ok, it’s just fab.

The full band take the stage, Chris Kemp on drums, Rob Scott on bass, Kevin Place on rhythm guitar and the aforementioned John Segovia on magical guitar. Between Hello and Goodbye a break up song with a whistle, Something’s Gotta Give, the first song written for the album, way back in 2019, how bad things were back then, yeah right, how good things actually were in the light of what was to come. Nothing actually gave, something took.

Appropriate then, and surprise of the night, that a song from the first record pops up next, one I haven’t heard before, and… wow! “When night falls, the cold creeps in, that’s when I’ll be waiting” Black Dog. Song builds, band cuts loose, Segovia shines, this is a great song, should be played always.

Two of the sweetest songs on the album next, well almost, on the setlist there’s a question mark which shouldn’t be there. Who Kissed Who? Is a long song to husband Chris, and Kingdom isn’t to be, as Kendall shies off a song which is recorded in three part harmony. I’m sad. She’s a little unsure of doing the song without support. She needn’t be. Instead she pops in a cover, Who Will Save Your Soul, by Jewel Kirchner. Great song; helps me through my pain.

First time live, Make You Shine, moaning steel, perfectly rendered, with its classic opening line, “are you drunk from the airport?” No song can fail after a line like that. New single and album opener, Honest Hand, classic country, and another reminder how easy Kendall’s songs are, straightforward and direct. No effort required to suss these songs out. What you hear is what you get, just let the songs wash over you like a warm bath. Sexy song next, Kendall’s voice going sultry and deep as the tempo climbs. What I Want.

And with that, we are off and running with a fast tempo yee hah of a song, the title track from Red Earth. And thus begins a romp to the finish as the band rockabillies out the fast songs from the album, including the classic Suzi Quatro cover, Your Mama Won’t Like Me, before encoring with the classic first hit, Heart Full of Dirt. Red haired red dirt girl from red earth.

The moon is an egg as I drive back east on an almost deserted motorway, strange times indeed, Humpty Dumpty has had a great fall, and yet, the dust of everyday life has been washed away for just a moment by the power of music played live, and my angst is suppressed by the elation of Kendall Elise.

Set List

1.Let The Night In
2.
Between Hello and Goodbye
3.
Something’s Gotta Give
4.
Black Dog
5.
Who Kissed Who
6.
Who Will Save Your Soul
7.
Make You Shine
8.
Honest Hand
9.
I Want
10.
Red Earth
11.
You Got To Be A Little Mad
12.
Your Mama Won’t Like Me
13.
Heart Full of Dirt


Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk / Zed Pics

 

About Kendall Elise

Kendall Elise is an intriguing story teller with a hint of yesteryear. With trademark quirky touches and flawless vocal delivery she has been turning heads since the release of her EP in 2017 I Didn’t Stand A Chance . Fresh from touring with Kiwi born, LA based Gin Wigmore and supporting Larkin Poe at their sold out Auckland show.
 
Her Debut single Heart Full of Dirt was a finalist for the APRA Best Country Music Song 2017.

Kendall Elise has just released her debut album, of which singles The Clock Tower and Valentine Street feature. The album debuted at number 12 on the NZ Music Album Charts.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kendall Elise

Releases

Let The Night In
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Red Earth
Year: 2019
Type: Album
I Didn't Stand A Chance
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Samuel Philip Cooper - Single Review: Forever Loved
12 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Somewhere, over the rainbow, Samuel Philip Cooper’s Nana is still sitting in her favourite chair, a grey-haired old lady with a hint of a smile enjoying the late afternoon sun dappling into her garden. In reality Samuel’s Nana passed away during lockdown and he never got to say goodbye.
Read More...
Album Review: Tess Liautaud
12 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Oh, the people of Christchurch have got music and soul everywhere, and yet another singer/songwriter emerges with an astonishingly mature debut and an international pedigree. Tess Liautaud is French, American and now Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tablefox @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 06/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
It’s New Zealand Music Month and here we all are at Anthology Lounge for the much awaited and much postponed Tablefox new album launch for Battles. It’s been a right old battle getting the new album out and played live, and this gig was originally scheduled for last August.
Read More...
Davey Beige - EP Review: Rise Above
05 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Davey Beige comes straight out of the blocks on his new EP Rise Above. 80 In A 50km Zone is just what it implies, we’re off and running at almost top speed, even though “Life goes way too fast”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jackie Bristow @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 28/04/2022
30 Apr 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jackie Bristow brought her new album Outsider to Anthology Lounge in Auckland on Thursday night, inside it’s warm and intimate and the seats are out. We’re still getting used to an almost post-Covid world but enough brave souls have come out to make this a proper gig and to experience the little things which make live music so special.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Album Review: Man on Mars
11 Apr 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Tony Lee is a Man on Mars. With a “here we go” Tony Lee’s band launch into a hootenanny rocking billy of an opening song which reminds me of the kind of frantic rhythm you might see and hear at Roberts Western World of a night, any night, on Broadway in Nashville.
Read More...
Album Review: Jamie McDell
04 Mar 2022 // by Roger Bowie
What a year it has been for Kiwis in Nashville. Just last month we had Cy Winstanley from Tattletale Saints pass through (on holiday), South for Winter play a few cameo gigs supporting the release of their great little record Luxumbra, and then Jackie Bristow releases her 5th album, recorded in Nashville, while she stayed locked down here in New Zealand.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Album Review: Outsider
03 Mar 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jackie Bristow has travelled a long, rough-hewn road. It’s nearly seven years since her last album, the gentle and sweet Shot of Gold.
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem