1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • South for Winter - Gig Review: South For Winter @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 17/02/2022

South for Winter - Gig Review: South For Winter @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 17/02/2022

19 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I knew tonight was going to be a first for me, although in more ways than I originally expected. We had been asked if we were interested in reviewing an American/Kiwi folk duo, South For Winter, who live in Nashville but were in New Zealand for a couple of months and of course I agreed. This meant I was heading into Auckland to attend The Ministry of Folk for the first time. They have been on my radar for a while as they have been having some great bands play, but there has always been a clash so have not made it until now. I knew they operated out of an old church building off Dominion Road, so made my way there, parked up, and only then realised it looked very closed indeed and obviously there was no gig taking place there tonight. I rechecked the gig details, and realised that tonight they were holding the gig down the road at Movespace, and as it was a pleasant evening, I left the car where it was and went for a stroll.

When I got to the right address, none other than awesome photographer Chris Z was stood outside which definitely got the evening off to a good start as not only is he a great guy, but it meant I did not need to worry about taking snaps on my phone. We went in together, and then up the stairs, as tonight’s gig was taking place on the flat roof! I have attended many hundreds of gigs in my time, and have been to many outdoors, but being on a roof was a new one for me. There was artificial turf on the floor, lots of chairs, a small playing area set up at one end next to a stunning wall mural, while tomatoes and other plants were happily growing at the other. Even though this was only a small event, there were two reviewers here tonight, with Marty Duda of The 13th Floor also in attendance, and we were soon chatting to the incredibly friendly and amiable Dani and Nick Stone. Soon, however, it was time for music and first up was Hoop.

They are the people behind The Ministry of Folk, so they get to invite the musicians they want to hear as well as provide the support themselves. The band comprise Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin), Glenn Coldham (bass) and Rusty Knox (drums, vocals). Al and Nick are the songwriters, and the set alternated between the two of them on lead vocals as each sang their own material. What was also interesting was the way the two of them kept swapping instruments depending on the song, which meant they could change their sound considerably during the performance. The night was still, the sun was setting on the horizon throwing the sky into shades of red and orange, and it was all set for a great gig and Hoop certainly got things off to a wonderful start.

We kicked off with As Good As It Gets, which had Nick on lead vocals playing acoustic guitar while Al was on banjo. Relaxed singer/songwriter with hints of Americana, this laid-back number featured some wonderful harmonies and great violin with nice interactions between the different players. The relaxed arrangement was the perfect introduction as the crowd mellowed into the show, with the ambient night sounds adding to the feeling of togetherness. Al took over for Devil’s Choice, a song about a family caught in a Victoria bush fire, switching his banjo for acoustic while Nick picked up a flute. This has far more drive to it with a very strong bass, making me think very much of Mundy-Turner.

With two quite different but related songwriters, both of whom are multi-instrumentalists, meant the set tonight had a great deal of change and dynamics. One of the highlights was Rabbithole, a new song about conspiracy theorists, and a chuckle went through the audience when Brian Tamaki was mentioned, while David Icke being described as “the lizard king” certainly made me laugh (he was a well-known sports broadcaster in the UK until he joined the crazy train). Nick was on electric guitar for this one, and Al back on banjo, and their ten-song set certainly set the tenor for the evening. Before tonight, Al had sent me a Spotify playlist of some of their material and it is certainly worth checking out.

By now it was getting really quite dark, so some lighting was hastily arranged for Dani and Nick so we could see them a little better (and Chris was able to take some photos). It looked like they were using a condenser microphone, as they shared it between them but were able to stand quite a distance away from it so they were not crowding each other. At this point I had not heard the album, so was not really sure what to expect, but had noted a couple of different guitars and a mandolin on stage and whenever I see a mandolin my interest always picks up.

They kicked off with Ten Black Crows (which along with much of the material tonight can be found on their album Luxumbra), and I was immediately taken by the vocals and harmonies. Dani has a very clear voice with wonderful range, at times throwing in emotion and at other being very pure and clear while Nick can sing in more supportive role or at times throw in some operatic style baritone, which gives the sound a very different feeling indeed. Here the guitar was being picked yet it felt raw and distorted, quite at odds with the vocals over the top which became increasingly passionate. They describe their music as being comprised of two different entities, either murder ballads or fun folk, and this was one of the former.

How did an American and a Kiwi get together? Well, they met in South America of course, and the first song they ever wrote together was Fallen Seeds. As with much of their material the songs rely mostly on Dani as the lead, with Nick providing harmonies and contrast, here doing quite deep at times and others into falsetto. They also have supreme confidence in their vocals and are not afraid to let the accompaniment drop away and let them shine. Nick took the lead on All I Wanna Do, which had much more of a jazz feel and Thirties-style to it and was absolutely perfect for a night on a roof.

I was just blown away by the two of them, and the enjoyment of the night was tempered with the knowledge that they were flying back to America at the end of February, but hopefully they will be back again next year as they indeed Fly South For Winter. We were spoiled with seventeen numbers showing their versatility, with Dani playing mandolin or guitar at times as well as singing, Nick giving us a driving instrumental (more about that in the next review), but they were not allowed to leave without an encore, for which we got Black Widow. This is another of their murder ballads, telling the story of Lavinia Fisher, often described as the first female serial killer in America. This had a rocky accompaniment against those delicate vocals, and the night ended on a real high.

I can certainly see me going back to The Ministry of Folk again in the near future (follow them on Facebook for their gig announcements), while Fly South For Winter were a real revelation. Now if only I could see them playing live again…


Photo credit: Chris Zwaagdyk / ZED Pics

 

About South for Winter

With a blend of dreamy acoustic duets, foot-stomping folk and bluesy murder ballads, New Zealand-born and Nashville-based South for Winter’s sound is as eclectic as their origins. The band is composed of New Zealander Nick Stone, Colorado native Dani Cichon, and Michigander Alex Stradal, and together the three multi-instrumentalists and songwriters combine elements such as cello, guitar, mandolin, and three-part harmonies into a genre-bending sound described by American Songwriter as “impeccable”.

South for Winter recorded their debut album Luxumbra in Nashville with Grammy award-winning producer Matt Leigh, and crowdfunded its independent release in 2020. Luxumbra has landed the band accolades such as a 'Most Wanted' Emerging Artist at Falcon Ridge Festival, 'Top DJ Pick' by NYC’s DJ John Platt in 2021, and official showcase artist at Folk Alliance International in 2022.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for South for Winter

Releases

There are no releases to display for South for Winter.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem