30 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man

18 Feb 2022 // A review by Paul Goddard

I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.

Forget your Tutti Fruity, Screwball, Flake, sugar/chocolate coated kiddie magnets. Pure and simple swirling goodness in a cone is where it's at.

Saurian clearly understand the joy of a simple swirling tune with their latest single burying its way into my mind as if I had stuck my ear under the Ice Cream Man's dispenser thingy and let it all ooze in. The brain freeze kicks in pretty swiftly as well with vocals driving a lyric that just refuses to not dig its heels in.

It just keeps going and flowing.

Like those tunes blurted out by Ice Cream vans all over the world, that drone that makes little kids run into roads oblivious to traffic that could squash them at any point, Saurian have created a blast that is so primal you can't ignore or forget it.

Fuck knows what the song is about, but like my favourite Vanilla Whip, who really cares why something so simple and satisfying exists. It just does and makes me want more.

Like all good things in life, it is all over too soon but the aftertaste lingers long. I am walking home with this noise buried in my psyche and I can hear it over and over again like it is calling to me. I look around and here comes the Ice Cream truck.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Saurian

Saurian is an alternative rock band from Dunedin, New Zealand consisting of guitarist/vocalist, Karl Brinsdon; drummer, Hamish Daniell; and guitarist, Cameron Ellis.

A jam session in August 2015 formed the band which then went on to create its own distinctive sound. After suggestions for band names like ‘reptiles’ or ‘lizards’, an online search came across ‘Saurian’ meaning “lizard-like”.

Saurian’s music appeals to a wide audience, possibly due to musical influences through the decades from the 60's until now. Band members channel their passion and energy into their song-writing, creating songs in styles from soft rock through to metal and we take pride in our diversity. Some of the band’s musical influences include Nirvana, The Beatles, Foo Fighters, Guns n Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Soundgarden.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Saurian

Releases

Brooding
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Marrow Neck - EP Review: Made Up
23 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Sitting here in a very wet and cold, rainy UK watching the oldies falling out of the local Wetherspoons where they have been on the piss since 9am (yep the UK is weird it's only the old people who can afford to get pissed all day).I am reflecting on the past as I listen to the latest EP Made Up from Auckland-based Mark Hannington.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Tempest
03 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Hardcore.It tends to mean extreme.
Read More...
Big Scout - Album Review: Council Sport
18 Aug 2022 // by Paul Goddard
It’s finally here. The first Long Player from Blenheim noisy buggers Big Scout.
Read More...
Memory Foam - Album Review: Steel Magnolias
28 Jun 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Did you know that Memory Foam creates a matrix of cells through which air can move? Me neither.
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem