8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gramsci - Album Review: The Hinterlands

10 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

My personal introduction to Gramsci was 2020’s wonderful Inheritance album, and in many ways that was a rebirth as it was the first album Paul McLaney had released under that name for 15 years. He credits the revitalisation with his teaming up with Greg Haver, an award-winning Welsh record producer most renowned for his work with The Manic Street Preachers. Paul provides the songs, vocals, guitar, and synth with Greg on the drums, and they are joined by Marika Hodgson on bass and Jol Mulholland on guitar. I must confess at this point that Marika is one of my favourite bassists in New Zealand – I first saw her performing with Troy Kingi at Tuning Fork some years back and asked TeMatera Smith who it was, as she just blew me away and I spent nearly as much time studying her technique as I did watching Troy! Of course, Jol is no slouch either, having performed with the likes of Neil Finn and Liam Finn, James Milne, and Anika Moa, so this line-up has an incredibly strong pedigree behind them.

But this is Paul’s band, and the album is a combination of late 70’s Roxy Music with lighter Simple Minds, plus some Bowie thrown in for good measure. This is music which is gentle and warm, imbued with an incredibly strong sense of rhythm and melody, washing over the listener in comforting waves. When describing the album, Paul says that in many ways it is the fulfilment of a promise to his sixteen-year-old self, the one who was intoxicated by The Cure, Pink Floyd, The The, The Smiths and the worlds they created he could escape into, safe harbours. There is certainly not much danger here, and even with two guitarists there is little in the way of dynamic attack, with the concentration always on the vocals and everything else slotting in behind, accompanying and supporting but never getting ahead of themselves.

There is the impression of everyone knowing exactly what they are doing and what they are meant to deliver, which means it is highly polished indeed. With Haver on co-production it is no surprise that between the two of them they have delivered a highly finessed product, yet there are times when I wish they would break farther away from the path they have set themselves. It is quite possible to be lost inside this album, which is a good thing, but it is also possible (when playing in the background, which is a travesty I know) to suddenly find the album has finished. The reason for this is that while Gramsci are producing some incredible music, I would prefer the album to have more contrast within it, heavier to offset the light, more power to offset the restraint. I actually found I got more from the album if I played the songs individually and took a break as then their true beauty shines through, and virtually all of them could be lifted as singles as they all contain something quite special.

There is a lot going inside the layers, and the arrangements are both diverse and sparse, incredibly complex yet simplistic, allowing Greg to often do more than just keep a beat in 4/4 while Marika is often controlling the melody, with guitars and keyboards adding touches to control the overall effect. I missed Paul’s Auckland show last time around as I was double-booked, so hopefully I can make it when he tours this album as this is something I would really like to see and hear in concert.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Gramsci

The name Gramsci is taken from an infamous Italian political philosopher.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gramsci

Releases

The Hinterlands
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Inheritance
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Like Stray Voltage
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Object
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Permanence
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem