28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Built - Album Review: We've Been Hoping You'd Wake And Now You Have

03 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Dean Young is probably best known in New Zealand for being a radio DJ on stations such as Radio Hauraki and The Rock, but he has also been producing and releasing his own material since 1998 in different bands and guises. He started using the name Built a few years back, with the last release being the 2018 EP Here's To Sweet Sabotage. In March 2021 he took stock of what material he had worked on since then, and was somewhat surprised to realise he had 10 songs which just needed some TLC and vocals. The album title came to him when he was thinking about the songs, which had been sitting around on a hard drive. He says, "it's like they were sitting there saying to me, we've been hoping you'd wake up and find us and now you have".

Dean is a one-man outfit, and although it was mastered by Josh Wood, Dean performed, engineered, and produced everything himself. What strikes the listener immediately is that the arrangements and production are not what one has come to expect from many NZ bands, and I wonder if that is because he is exposed to so much more music than “normal” people. The first time I played this, I was reminded instantly of Muse, as the production is incredibly polished, with driving drums, riff-hungry guitars which dominate when he puts the hammer down. He is also not afraid to suddenly switch to a falsetto and gentle backing, before allowing the volume and passion to come back. This use of contrast allows the softer elements to be just that, while when he allows the guitars to distort and come back in over the top it has even more impact.

Although not originally intended to be a concept, the songs do have a loose narrative about a person who wakes up one morning and although they feel the world has totally changed everyone else carries on as if it is completely normal. There is a complexity here, yet also a simplicity, with a yearning which reaches to the listener and grabs hold of them and brings them in close. It is spacious and spatial, with the listener able to take their time to truly get inside the music and mind of Dean, understanding the passions and emotions, and just when it feels everything is on one level, he suddenly breaks free, with Skullduggery being very much a case in point. There is knowledge that while in the foreground everything is meek, there is much more coming, and when he lets it out it rampages before being carefully tucked away again until the next time.

This album is totally enjoyable, with some downtuned monster notes, all combining into an album which feels very modern, British, and definitely worth seeking out.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Built

Dean Young, musician, producer. Whose day job is a now 25-year-and-counting radio career - which at one point saw him fronting breakfast radio shows around New Zealand on Radio Hauraki along with The Rock, and nowadays behind the scenes.

He has also been writing/performing and producing his own music since 1998, swapping out the band-of-actual-humans option in favour of a solitary studio project where he took care of everything from the writing to production.

It was a Tauranga home studio where this journey began with the project breathingunderwater yielding the EP Aquatic Ceremony in 1999, the full length Horizonchrist in 2000 and the EP Prayers to Broken Stones in 2001.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Built

Releases

Here's To Sweet Sabotage
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem