1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Built - Album Review: We've Been Hoping You'd Wake And Now You Have

03 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Dean Young is probably best known in New Zealand for being a radio DJ on stations such as Radio Hauraki and The Rock, but he has also been producing and releasing his own material since 1998 in different bands and guises. He started using the name Built a few years back, with the last release being the 2018 EP Here's To Sweet Sabotage. In March 2021 he took stock of what material he had worked on since then, and was somewhat surprised to realise he had 10 songs which just needed some TLC and vocals. The album title came to him when he was thinking about the songs, which had been sitting around on a hard drive. He says, "it's like they were sitting there saying to me, we've been hoping you'd wake up and find us and now you have".

Dean is a one-man outfit, and although it was mastered by Josh Wood, Dean performed, engineered, and produced everything himself. What strikes the listener immediately is that the arrangements and production are not what one has come to expect from many NZ bands, and I wonder if that is because he is exposed to so much more music than “normal” people. The first time I played this, I was reminded instantly of Muse, as the production is incredibly polished, with driving drums, riff-hungry guitars which dominate when he puts the hammer down. He is also not afraid to suddenly switch to a falsetto and gentle backing, before allowing the volume and passion to come back. This use of contrast allows the softer elements to be just that, while when he allows the guitars to distort and come back in over the top it has even more impact.

Although not originally intended to be a concept, the songs do have a loose narrative about a person who wakes up one morning and although they feel the world has totally changed everyone else carries on as if it is completely normal. There is a complexity here, yet also a simplicity, with a yearning which reaches to the listener and grabs hold of them and brings them in close. It is spacious and spatial, with the listener able to take their time to truly get inside the music and mind of Dean, understanding the passions and emotions, and just when it feels everything is on one level, he suddenly breaks free, with Skullduggery being very much a case in point. There is knowledge that while in the foreground everything is meek, there is much more coming, and when he lets it out it rampages before being carefully tucked away again until the next time.

This album is totally enjoyable, with some downtuned monster notes, all combining into an album which feels very modern, British, and definitely worth seeking out.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Built

Dean Young, musician, producer. Whose day job is a now 25-year-and-counting radio career - which at one point saw him fronting breakfast radio shows around New Zealand on Radio Hauraki along with The Rock, and nowadays behind the scenes.

He has also been writing/performing and producing his own music since 1998, swapping out the band-of-actual-humans option in favour of a solitary studio project where he took care of everything from the writing to production.

It was a Tauranga home studio where this journey began with the project breathingunderwater yielding the EP Aquatic Ceremony in 1999, the full length Horizonchrist in 2000 and the EP Prayers to Broken Stones in 2001.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Built

Releases

Here's To Sweet Sabotage
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem