28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

End Boss - Single/Video Review: Punished

03 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Lisa (MNZ) sent me a YouTube link one day and said, “Have you heard this?” I was shortly getting back to her saying no I hadn’t but was going to contact the band directly as I could not quite believe what I was hearing. A short while later I was talking with Nathan Hickey of the mighty Beastwars, as he is the drummer for End Boss as well. The last time I saw him play he was ripping up The Powerstation in what was for me one of the gigs of the year, and here he is providing the same huge percussive sound which one has come to expect over the years. It sounds like he is wielding tree trunks and is going to break the heads at any minute, destroying the kit. Alongside him are Ghidoragh guitarists Greg Broadmore and Christian Pearce, locking in tight and heavy, dealing the sludge with passion. The bottom end is massively heavy, like a physical form, assaulting the senses with its slowed-down brutality, creating waves of sound designed to rip the breath from your lungs.

But, and that is a very special word in this context, there is also a real sense of commerciality in what they are producing, especially in the bridge. Then at the front is lead singer E.J. Thorpe, who is incredibly enigmatic in her approach, switching like a chameleon so one has no idea what is going to come next. There are times when she reminds me somewhat of Siouxsie Sioux in the way she twists her vocals around the melody, although more tuneful and melodic. She has a real edge and there is the knowledge that she is a force to be reckoned with. She happily switches register and styles depending on the need and mood of the moment, and although she can be sweetness and light one second, she can be ready to eviscerate you the next. By the time we get to the end of the song she is chanting, with the vocals here mixed behind the guitars, allowing her sweet voice to build another layer on top. The last thing we here is EJ holding onto a note, perfectly in pitch and fully in control. They remind me somewhat of Black Widow, but only as a base which is then being taken into new directions.

The video is a simply shot performance, but one quickly sees that here we have a band who are itching to get back out and play live, as that is where they truly belong, with the guys all locking into the groove and EJ commanding the stage. This is an immensely powerful debut, and all metalheads need to be locking 8th April into their calendars to ensure they grab the album They Seek My Head on the day it comes out.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

They Seek My Head
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem