27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

End Boss - Single/Video Review: Punished

03 Feb 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Lisa (MNZ) sent me a YouTube link one day and said, “Have you heard this?” I was shortly getting back to her saying no I hadn’t but was going to contact the band directly as I could not quite believe what I was hearing. A short while later I was talking with Nathan Hickey of the mighty Beastwars, as he is the drummer for End Boss as well. The last time I saw him play he was ripping up The Powerstation in what was for me one of the gigs of the year, and here he is providing the same huge percussive sound which one has come to expect over the years. It sounds like he is wielding tree trunks and is going to break the heads at any minute, destroying the kit. Alongside him are Ghidoragh guitarists Greg Broadmore and Christian Pearce, locking in tight and heavy, dealing the sludge with passion. The bottom end is massively heavy, like a physical form, assaulting the senses with its slowed-down brutality, creating waves of sound designed to rip the breath from your lungs.

But, and that is a very special word in this context, there is also a real sense of commerciality in what they are producing, especially in the bridge. Then at the front is lead singer E.J. Thorpe, who is incredibly enigmatic in her approach, switching like a chameleon so one has no idea what is going to come next. There are times when she reminds me somewhat of Siouxsie Sioux in the way she twists her vocals around the melody, although more tuneful and melodic. She has a real edge and there is the knowledge that she is a force to be reckoned with. She happily switches register and styles depending on the need and mood of the moment, and although she can be sweetness and light one second, she can be ready to eviscerate you the next. By the time we get to the end of the song she is chanting, with the vocals here mixed behind the guitars, allowing her sweet voice to build another layer on top. The last thing we here is EJ holding onto a note, perfectly in pitch and fully in control. They remind me somewhat of Black Widow, but only as a base which is then being taken into new directions.

The video is a simply shot performance, but one quickly sees that here we have a band who are itching to get back out and play live, as that is where they truly belong, with the guys all locking into the groove and EJ commanding the stage. This is an immensely powerful debut, and all metalheads need to be locking 8th April into their calendars to ensure they grab the album They Seek My Head on the day it comes out.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

They Seek My Head
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem