27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery

27 Jan 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside. A sandcastle is being built, two guys are playing beach volleyball with a beachball, Sam is chilling, and there is also a lobster passed out from too much beer. Yes, this is a summer album about having fun, relaxing, recovering, and some pain. For ages I have been trying to best describe these guys, as while it is lazy to describe them as a Kiwi version of Mumford & Sons there is also some truth in it, as there are not that many pop bands who can get away with using a banjo as a key instrument. I knew that wasn’t enough, and I started thinking more about the lyrical content and the way the words are important and how they always tell little stores which are real life, and then it hit me, Squeeze! I have always felt the songwriting of Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook are woefully overlooked, and once I made the connection the stronger it became.

Although wonderfully recorded and mixed by Jamie Crerar at Red Room Studios, mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog Studios, there is an honesty and lack of over-production which works incredibly well with this release. Better Man is probably my favourite, a duet which also has a far folkier side, combined with some wonderfully warm bass, gentle picked banjo, and delicate acoustic. This is an album that can be enjoyed on the very first time of playing yet one knows it is only going to get better with age. There is also the impression that in the studio the guys are somewhat restrained and that when they get on the road they become somewhat more raucous. I am sure these would go down well supporting The Eastern, it would be a real blast. The songs all have a similar musical thread through them, yet each is quite different, having its own life and identity with Sam’s vocals always front and centre. The result is a fresh sounding album which is a wonderful respite from the plastic monotony of so much on the radio and is both contemporary and incredibly dated all at the same time. Their sense of humour carries throughout the album, check out I Wanna Dance, and all the listener can do is smile and join in the fun.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Sam Loveridge Band

The Sam Loveridge Band was formed in Auckland, New Zealand in 2021. The band has connections to the University of Auckland Jazz school where four of the members met (Sam, Sam, Chris and Bhagirath) and the Auckland open mic scene where Jono and Sam play regularly. The band plays an eclectic mix of genres from Folk and Psychedelic to Disco and Funk all built up from songs Sam has written.

The Band is set to release there first single Run Into You on the 23rd of July 2021 with a full album dropping in late November of the same year.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Sam Loveridge Band

Releases

Recovery
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem