8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery

27 Jan 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside. A sandcastle is being built, two guys are playing beach volleyball with a beachball, Sam is chilling, and there is also a lobster passed out from too much beer. Yes, this is a summer album about having fun, relaxing, recovering, and some pain. For ages I have been trying to best describe these guys, as while it is lazy to describe them as a Kiwi version of Mumford & Sons there is also some truth in it, as there are not that many pop bands who can get away with using a banjo as a key instrument. I knew that wasn’t enough, and I started thinking more about the lyrical content and the way the words are important and how they always tell little stores which are real life, and then it hit me, Squeeze! I have always felt the songwriting of Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook are woefully overlooked, and once I made the connection the stronger it became.

Although wonderfully recorded and mixed by Jamie Crerar at Red Room Studios, mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog Studios, there is an honesty and lack of over-production which works incredibly well with this release. Better Man is probably my favourite, a duet which also has a far folkier side, combined with some wonderfully warm bass, gentle picked banjo, and delicate acoustic. This is an album that can be enjoyed on the very first time of playing yet one knows it is only going to get better with age. There is also the impression that in the studio the guys are somewhat restrained and that when they get on the road they become somewhat more raucous. I am sure these would go down well supporting The Eastern, it would be a real blast. The songs all have a similar musical thread through them, yet each is quite different, having its own life and identity with Sam’s vocals always front and centre. The result is a fresh sounding album which is a wonderful respite from the plastic monotony of so much on the radio and is both contemporary and incredibly dated all at the same time. Their sense of humour carries throughout the album, check out I Wanna Dance, and all the listener can do is smile and join in the fun.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Sam Loveridge Band

The Sam Loveridge Band was formed in Auckland, New Zealand in 2021. The band has connections to the University of Auckland Jazz school where four of the members met (Sam, Sam, Chris and Bhagirath) and the Auckland open mic scene where Jono and Sam play regularly. The band plays an eclectic mix of genres from Folk and Psychedelic to Disco and Funk all built up from songs Sam has written.

The Band is set to release there first single Run Into You on the 23rd of July 2021 with a full album dropping in late November of the same year.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Sam Loveridge Band

Releases

Recovery
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem