28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather

27 Jan 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.

Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged. It is raw. It is real.

Starting with a driving bass line before the main riff locks in with the verse about different styles of drinks. Old Salts mention this "Pairs well with rum, soda water and a slice of lime."

There is space in the song where it's needed. You also get the atmospheric moments coming through that help give the song a full sense of movement, especially when you get to the section where the guitars play big staccato chords, the drums with open hi-hats locked-in with bass....it would be an awesome sound and vibe live, after a couple of those rum, soda water and slice of lime drinks they mention.

For a debut single, this song is excellent. What I want to really make mention of is its organic and real sound.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Old Salts

Old Salts are an alternative rock band who are set to leave an impression with the release of their debut single Take a Breather due out on 21-01-2022.
The song will be one of four singles released off their forthcoming EP Stories told by the Sea.

Take a Breather is an enthusiastic drinking song which also references taking a break so there's a lot of space for interpretation of lyrics. Take a Breather is seasoned with influences from Primus and Them Crooked Vultures and has more rawness and grit than their upcoming releases. Each of four songs on the upcoming EP fall within the parameters of alt rock, from serious to satire, moody rock ballads to angsty rock anthems. There is an assortment of goodies rich in vitamins to sustain any listeners tastes and dietary needs. Take a Breather will wet the whistle and leave you wanting more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Old Salts

Releases

Stories Told By The Sea
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Swizl Jager - Single/Video Review: Nanny Pia
06 Jan 2023 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Swizl Jager, Nanny Pia, is a fantastic new track that will have your head bobbing in a humble way. It's got a great vibe that will have you hitting that repeat button.
Read More...
Dilz - Single/Video Review: I've Been 2
05 Dec 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz' new track I've Been 2 hits hard. With a huge bass sound that doesn't overwhelm as much as it just makes you aware of its power, paired with the chimes as a hook and a powerful trap beat, I would say that this Dilz track is a statement about where he has come from and where he is now.
Read More...
Taiotims - EP Review: Thank You For Your Patience
22 Nov 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Taiotims (Mataio Timaloa) is an Auckland Hip-Hop artist who has independently built a growing fanbase all over New Zealand. His music is known for his relatable story telling, nostalgic tone of voice and his soulful beats.
Read More...
Eliezer - Single Review: Certified Professional Dreamer
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Eliezer is back after a little while with his new track Certified Professional Dreamer. Produced with long-time collaborator Ten Oh, the track continues to show why Eliezer is name you need to stay aware of.
Read More...
Teazse - Single Review: Love, Money Or Drugs
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Teazse, an independent rap artist from Auckland, brings a lot of what people like about modern hip hop and brings it into his own world, while still acknowledging the sound of those that came before. For example, the sampled pitched voice works well when used well, and it's done here well.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: I'm Life Feat Nawazish Ali Khan
14 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental.
Read More...
Album Review: Leejunardo Da Vinci
03 Oct 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Leejun is a Hip-Hop R&B Artist who lives and works in the 03 Christchurch, New Zealand. His complex lyricism and smooth delivery alongside his soulful singing voice reflect the amount of time he's dedicated to working on his craft.
Read More...
CACO - EP Review: Chisme
21 Sep 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
CACO is a 23-year-old South Auckland raised Iraqi. Over the last 6 years, CACO has become an all-encompassing musical artist; producing, mixing, mastering, writing and recording the near extent of his 30+ track catalogue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem