23 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather

27 Jan 2022 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.

Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged. It is raw. It is real.

Starting with a driving bass line before the main riff locks in with the verse about different styles of drinks. Old Salts mention this "Pairs well with rum, soda water and a slice of lime."

There is space in the song where it's needed. You also get the atmospheric moments coming through that help give the song a full sense of movement, especially when you get to the section where the guitars play big staccato chords, the drums with open hi-hats locked-in with bass....it would be an awesome sound and vibe live, after a couple of those rum, soda water and slice of lime drinks they mention.

For a debut single, this song is excellent. What I want to really make mention of is its organic and real sound.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Old Salts

Old Salts are an alternative rock band who are set to leave an impression with the release of their debut single Take a Breather due out on 21-01-2022.
The song will be one of four singles released off their forthcoming EP Stories told by the Sea.

Take a Breather is an enthusiastic drinking song which also references taking a break so there's a lot of space for interpretation of lyrics. Take a Breather is seasoned with influences from Primus and Them Crooked Vultures and has more rawness and grit than their upcoming releases. Each of four songs on the upcoming EP fall within the parameters of alt rock, from serious to satire, moody rock ballads to angsty rock anthems. There is an assortment of goodies rich in vitamins to sustain any listeners tastes and dietary needs. Take a Breather will wet the whistle and leave you wanting more.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Old Salts

Releases

There are no releases to display for Old Salts.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem